United States · Investor

Sofinnova Investments

Last cheque observed Oct 2026; 161 cheques on record.

Deploying nowNew fund $500M, Aug 2025VC firm

GrowthPre-seedSeedCollaborationConsumerEducation

Deploying now
100%of best year2cheques in 12 months, 161 on record
Since the last cheque8days00hrs00min00sec
Median round$39MRounds led2 of 161Sole investor9 roundsExits28 from the portfolioMostly inUnited States, 79%
Pitch Sofinnova Investments

Sofinnova Investments highlights

  1. 01

    2 cheques in the last 12 months

  2. 02

    Mostly Series B and Series A: 52% of its rounds

  3. 03

    Sole investor in 9 rounds, median $14M

  4. 04

    28 exits from the portfolio

What they do

No descriptive text about Sofinnova Investments was found in the provided homepage text.From their own website
Type
VC firm
Cheque size
Not stated
Stages
GrowthPre-seedSeedSeries ASeries B
Sectors
CollaborationConsumerEducation
Based in
Menlo Park, United States
Cold pitches
Not stated

The record

Every round we can evidence, newest first161 appearances

  1. 2026

    2 rounds

  2. Oct
    Star TherapeuticsUS · Pulse 2.0$200MWith 10 others
  3. Jun
    City TherapeuticsSeries B · US · Ventureburn$100MLed
  4. 2025

    1 round

  5. Apr
    Atsena TherapeuticsSeries C · US · Hatteras Venture Partners$150MWith 9 others
  6. 2024

    1 round

  7. Mar
    Capstan TherapeuticsSeries B · US · Firms' own news pages$175MWith 15 others
  8. 2019

    4 rounds

  9. Oct
    Intrepida BioSeries A · US · FinSMEs$9.5MWith 3 others
  10. May
    DNA ScriptSeries B · FR · FinSMEs$39MWith 6 others
  11. Apr
    Inozyme PharmaSeries A · US · FinSMEs$67MWith 8 others
  12. Apr
    KarunaUS · FinSMEs$12MSole investor
  13. 2018

    12 rounds

  14. Dec
    XyloCorSeries A · US · Medcitynews$17MLed
  15. Nov
    NextCureSeries B · MD · Pehub$93MWith 12 others
  16. Oct
    RgenixSeries C · US · FinSMEs$40MWith 4 others
  17. Aug
    AkuousSeries A · US · FinSMEs$50MWith 4 others
  18. Jul
    HotSpot TherapeuticsSeries A · US · FinSMEs$45MWith 1 other
  19. Jul
    AntivaSeries C · US · FinSMEs$15MWith 5 others
  20. Jun
    Enyo PharmaSeries B · FR · FinSMEs$47MWith 5 others
  21. May
    BioClinSeries B · FinSMEs$20MWith 6 others
  22. Apr
    CrescendoSeries B · GB · FinSMEs$70MWith 5 others
  23. Apr
    CorvidiaSeries B · US · FinSMEs$60MWith 8 others
  24. Apr
    RefleXionSeries C · US · FinSMEs$100MWith 6 others
  25. Jan
    AlediaSeries C · FR · FinSMEs$36MWith 5 others
  26. 2017

    7 rounds

  27. Dec
    HookipaSeries C · AT · FinSMEs$60MWith 8 others
  28. Nov
    YmAbsUS · FinSMEs$30MWith 1 other
  29. Sept
    DNA ScriptSeries A · FR · FinSMEs$13MWith 3 others
  30. Sept
    Entasis TherapeuticsSeries B · US · FinSMEs$32MWith 2 others
  31. Mar
    Antiva BiosciencesSeries C · US · FinSMEs$22MWith 4 others
  32. Mar
    BioClin TherapeuticsSeries B · US · FinSMEs$30MWith 3 others
  33. Feb
    DauntlessSeries A · US · Biocentury$25MWith 1 other
  34. 2016

    1 round

  35. Nov
    Galera TherapeuticsUS · FinSMEs$15MSole investor
  36. 2015

    11 rounds

  37. Nov
    First Aid Shot TherapySeries C · US$24MWith 4 others
  38. Oct
    Audentes TherapeuticsSeries C · US$65MWith 11 others
  39. Sept
    Aclaris TherapeuticsSeries C · US$40MWith 8 others
  40. Aug
    Checkmate PharmaceuticalsSeries A · US$20MWith 1 other
  41. Aug
    Hera TherapeuticsSeries B · US$16MWith 1 other
  42. Jul
    Dauntless PharmaceuticalsSeries A · US$12MSole investor
  43. Jun
    Crocus TechnologySeries E · US$21MWith 8 others
  44. Apr
    MerusSeries C · NL$79MWith 10 others
  45. Apr
    Edge TherapeuticsSeries C · US$56MWith 5 others
  46. Apr
    NateraSeries F · US$56MWith 6 others
  47. Mar
    aTyr PharmaSeries E · US$76MSole investor
  48. 2014

    14 rounds

  49. Dec
    Audentes TherapeuticsSeries B · US$43MWith 5 others

An announcement gives the size of the round, not the size of this investor's cheque: the only rounds that imply a cheque are those where they were the sole named investor.

The team

Named by the firm itself, on a filing, its Form ADV or its company registration13 named

ALAlain Louis AzanShareholderiForm ADV
AFAnand F. MehraManaging Member of the General PartneriFiling they signed
EHEric Helmut DelbridgeDirectoriForm ADV
GKGarheng KongExecutive OfficeriFiling they signed
HNHooman No Middle Name ShahlaviShareholder, Secretary and Chief Legal OfficeriForm ADV
JDJames Dennis BrodyChief Compliance OfficeriForm ADV
JIJames Irvin HealyManaging Member of the General PartneriFiling they signed
LGLars Gosta EkmanBoard of Directors Member, Executive PartneriForm ADV
MMMaha Mehdi KatabiShareholder, Director and Vice PresidentiForm ADV
MFMichael F. PowellManaging Member of the General PartneriFiling they signed
NMNathalie Marie AuberShareholder, Director and Chief Financial OfficeriForm ADV
SBSarah BhagatManaging Member of the GP of the GPiFiling they signed
SFSrinivas F. AkkarajuManaging Member of the General PartneriFiling they signed

We also hold 31 people at this firm from the lists this database was built from: a weaker source than the filings, since a list does not say when a title ended. Login to see them.

What the register says

From the firm's own filings with the SEC, which it must file accurately by law

$5.4Bassets it managesOct 2026
Registeredinvestment adviserfull reporting to the SEC
Legal name
Sofinnova Investments, Inc.
SEC number
CRD 160297

Funds on its Form ADV

7 private funds, $2.3B in gross assets · filed Sept 2024

Venture 4Hedge 3

  1. Sofinnova Venture Partners X, L.P.Venture59 investors$803M
  2. Sofinnova Bioequities Enhanced Master Fund, L.P.Hedge18 investors$766M
  3. Sofinnova Venture Partners IX, L.P.Venture52 investors$289M
  4. Sofinnova Venture Partners XI, L.P.Venture51 investors$236M
  5. Sofinnova Bioequities Master Fund, LTD.Hedge50 investors$204M
  6. Sofinnova Venture Partners VIII, L.P.Venture41 investors$7.7M
  7. Sofinnova Synergy Master Fund, L.P.Hedge13 investors$5.1M

Who backs their funds

2 LPs on record in Sofinnova Investments's funds

Committed
$155M
Funds
3
Vintages
2007 to 2014

The institutions that put money into its funds, which the firm then invests in companies.Source: the pension's own report, latest Sept 2025.

Exits from the portfolio

Companies it backed that were later bought or listed28 in all

ZS PharmaBought by AstraZeneca$2.7BNov 2015
ConteXtreamBought by HP SoftwareUndisclosedMay 2015
Hyperion TherapeuticsBought by Horizon Pharma$1.1BMar 2015
Cortina SystemsBought by INPHI$131MOct 2014
Civitas TherapeuticsBought by Acorda Therapeutics$525MSept 2014
Aerie PharmaceuticalsListedUndisclosedOct 2013
KXENBought by SAPUndisclosedSept 2013
Trius TherapeuticsListedUndisclosedJul 2013
SARcode BioscienceBought by Shire$160MMar 2013
KaloBios PharmaceuticalsListedUndisclosedJan 2013
NextWave PharmaceuticalsBought by PfizerUndisclosedOct 2012
Laszlo SystemsBought by Critical Path Inc.UndisclosedFeb 2012
IntellikineBought by Takeda Pharmaceutical$310MDec 2011
Vicept TherapeuticsBought by Allergan$275MJul 2011
HeadSproutBought by Newell RubbermaidUndisclosedMar 2011
HelloSoftBought by Imagination Technologies$47MNov 2010
UPEKBought by AuthenTecUndisclosedSept 2010
Anthera PharmaceuticalsListedUndisclosedMar 2010

The latest 20 here. An exit counts when it came after the firm's first round in the company. From historical deal records.

Who they invest alongside

The investors most often in the same rounds as Sofinnova Investments. A count of rooms they were both in, not a relationship either has claimed.

Recently backed

The latest companies Sofinnova Investments put money into.

Mentioned on podcasts

Episodes that name Sofinnova Investments in their description, not their title.

Quick answers about Sofinnova Investments

What does Sofinnova Investments invest in?

Sofinnova Investments invests most often at Series B and Series A (52% of the rounds on record), in sectors such as Collaboration, Consumer and Education.

How active is Sofinnova Investments?

161 investments on record, 2 of them in the last 12 months, and it led 2. The most recent was in Oct 2026.

What has Sofinnova Investments invested in recently?

Its most recent investments on record: Star Therapeutics (Undisclosed round, Oct 2026), City Therapeutics (Series B, Jun 2026) and Atsena Therapeutics (Series C, Apr 2025).

How big are Sofinnova Investments's cheques?

The median round it joins is $39M.

Does Sofinnova Investments lead rounds?

Sometimes: it led 2 of its 161 investments on record (1%).

Where does Sofinnova Investments invest?

Most of the companies it backs are in the United States (79%) and France (10%).

Is Sofinnova Investments investing now?

Yes: it is actively investing, with 2 investments in the last 12 months.

Who does Sofinnova Investments invest alongside?

Most often Canaan (13 rounds together), OrbiMed (12 rounds together) and Novartis Venture Fund (9 rounds together).

Raising now?

Find the investors who back rounds like yours, and keep every conversation on one fundraising board.

Built from the rounds we watched, its filings and its own website, refreshed every night. How we count · Report a correction · Is this your firm? Claim it