United Kingdom · Investor

HSBC

Last cheque observed Oct 2026; 233 cheques on record.

Deploying nowGrowth equity

DebtVentureSeries AFinancial ServicesFinance

Deploying now
90%of best year65cheques in 12 months, 233 on record
Since the last cheque26days00hrs00min00sec
Median round$45MRounds led3 of 233Sole investor35 roundsExits1 from the portfolioMostly inUnited States, 28%
Pitch HSBC

HSBC highlights

  1. 01

    65 cheques in the last 12 months

  2. 02

    Mostly Debt and Venture: 79% of its rounds

  3. 03

    Sole investor in 35 rounds, median $10M

  4. 04

    1 exits from the portfolio

What they do

Type
Growth equity (from a list, unverified)
Cheque size
Not stated
Sectors
Financial ServicesFinance
Based in
United Kingdom
Cold pitches
Not stated

The record

Every round we can evidence, newest first233 appearances

  1. 2026

    48 rounds

  2. Oct
    IPIDSeries A · SG · Firms' own news pages$16MWith 5 others
  3. Sept
    Bending SpoonsIT$295MWith 3 others
  4. Sept
    International Payments IdentitySeries A · SG$16MWith 4 others
  5. Sept
    CarroVenture · USUndisclosedWith 4 others
  6. Sept
    FinloopSeries A · HK$10MWith 1 other
  7. Sept
    FundParkDebt · HK$250MWith 3 others
  8. Jul
    NexuDebt · MX · LatamList$143MWith 6 others
  9. Jul
    EllipticSeries D · GB · Firms' own news pages$120MWith 7 others
  10. Jul
    ACCURE Battery IntelligenceVenture · DE$16MWith 3 others
  11. Jun
    TechBBQGrant · DK · TechCabal$612KWith 1 other
  12. Jun
    ClipMX · LatamList$500MWith 6 others
  13. Jun
    Digital AssetSeries F · US · SC Ventures$355MWith 28 others
  14. Jun
    CirataUS$6.7MSole investor
  15. Jun
    esVoltaDebt · US$250MWith 1 other
  16. Jun
    CleneraDebt · US$2.6BWith 3 others
  17. Jun
    Matrix RenewablesDebt · ES$970MWith 4 others
  18. Jun
    Epos NowDebt · GB$74MWith 1 other
  19. May
    Bright NightVenture · USUndisclosedWith 1 other
  20. May
    AtomeVenture · SG$149MWith 2 others
  21. May
    Princeton Digital GroupDebt · SG$456MWith 3 others
  22. May
    CastoreDebt · GB$122MWith 2 others
  23. Apr
    VamosDebt · BR$20MWith 4 others
  24. Apr
    HQLAxVenture · LUUndisclosedWith 3 others
  25. Mar
    Mistral AIDebt · FR · Firms' own news pages$830MWith 6 others
  26. Mar
    OriginSeries A · GB · Ventureburn$30MWith 2 others
  27. Mar
    CandexSeries C · US · Crunchbase News$40MLed
  28. Mar
    CleneraDebt · US$304MWith 3 others
  29. Mar
    Assured Data ProtectionVenture · GBUndisclosedWith 1 other
  30. Mar
    Coppa CollectiveDebt · GB$20MWith 1 other
  31. Mar
    YotoVenture · GBUndisclosedWith 4 others
  32. Mar
    CandexSeries C · US$7.0MWith 5 others
  33. Mar
    Doral RenewablesDebt · US$525MSole investor
  34. Mar
    Greater Good HealthDebt · US$13MWith 3 others
  35. Feb
    KavakSeries F · MX · Contxto$300MWith 11 others
  36. Feb
    Optima HealthDebt · GB$137MWith 1 other
  37. Feb
  38. Feb
    WonderDebt · HK$12MSole investor
  39. Feb
    ProxymityVenture · GBUndisclosedWith 3 others
  40. Feb
    YazenDebt · SE$7.7MSole investor
  41. Feb
    OSTTRASecondary · GB$100MWith 4 others

An announcement gives the size of the round, not the size of this investor's cheque: the only rounds that imply a cheque are those where they were the sole named investor.

The team

We hold 29 people at this firm from the lists this database was built from: a weaker source than the filings, since a list does not say when a title ended. Login to see them.

What the register says

From the firm's own filings with the SEC, which it must file accurately by law

11+funds on filenumbered funds in its name

Who backs their funds

1 LP on record in HSBC's funds

Committed
$50M
Funds
1
Vintages
1997

The institutions that put money into its funds, which the firm then invests in companies.Source: the pension's own report, latest Sept 2025.

Exits from the portfolio

Companies it backed that were later bought or listed1 in all

Better PlaceBought by Sunrise Group$12MJul 2013

An exit counts when it came after the firm's first round in the company. From historical deal records.

Who they invest alongside

The investors most often in the same rounds as HSBC. A count of rooms they were both in, not a relationship either has claimed.

Recently backed

The latest companies HSBC put money into.

On podcasts

6 episodes naming HSBC in the title, and 4 more that mention it.

Mentioned in

Quick answers about HSBC

What does HSBC invest in?

HSBC invests most often at Debt and Venture (79% of the rounds on record), in sectors such as Financial Services and Finance.

How active is HSBC?

233 investments on record, 65 of them in the last 12 months, and it led 3. The most recent was in Oct 2026.

What has HSBC invested in recently?

Its most recent investments on record: IPID (Series A, Oct 2026), Bending Spoons (Undisclosed round, Sept 2026) and International Payments Identity (Series A, Sept 2026).

How big are HSBC's cheques?

The median round it joins is $45M.

Does HSBC lead rounds?

Sometimes: it led 3 of its 233 investments on record (1%).

Where does HSBC invest?

Most of the companies it backs are in the United States (28%), the United Kingdom (26%) and Singapore (10%).

Is HSBC investing now?

Yes: it is actively investing, with 65 investments in the last 12 months.

Who does HSBC invest alongside?

Most often HSBC UK (24 rounds together), BNP Paribas (23 rounds together) and Citibank (19 rounds together).

Raising now?

Find the investors who back rounds like yours, and keep every conversation on one fundraising board.

Built from the rounds we watched, its filings and its own website, refreshed every night. How we count · Report a correction · Is this your firm? Claim it