United Kingdom · Investor

IP Group

Last cheque observed Oct 2026; 174 cheques on record.

Deploying nowVC firm

Pre-seedSeedSeries ASmarthomeReal EstateProp-tech

Deploying now
88%of best year21cheques in 12 months, 174 on record
Since the last cheque19days00hrs00min00sec
Median round$9.1MRounds led1 of 174Sole investor29 roundsExits3 from the portfolioMostly inUnited Kingdom, 66%
Pitch IP Group

IP Group highlights

  1. 01

    21 cheques in the last 12 months

  2. 02

    Mostly Venture and Seed: 66% of its rounds

  3. 03

    Sole investor in 29 rounds, median $2.3M

  4. 04

    3 exits from the portfolio

What they do

Type
VC firm (from a list, unverified)
Cheque size
Not stated
Stages
Pre-seedSeedSeries ASeries BGrowth
Sectors
SmarthomeReal EstateProp-tech
Based in
London, United Kingdom
Cold pitches
Not stated

The record

Every round we can evidence, newest first174 appearances

  1. 2026

    18 rounds

  2. Oct
    Matter MachinePre-seed · GB · Tech Funding News$5.3MLed
  3. Sept
    HysataGrant · AU · Startup Daily$35MWith 1 other
  4. Sept
    MicrobioticaSeries C · GB · Cambridge Innovation Capital$35MWith 5 others
  5. Aug
    RFC PowerSeries A · GB$14MWith 1 other
  6. Jul
    MAKOSeries A · AU · Virescent Ventures$19MWith 8 others
  7. Jul
    MoA TechnologySeries C · GB · Agri Investment Fund$30MWith 10 others
  8. Jul
    Oxford Science EnterprisesVenture · GB$19MWith 2 others
  9. Jul
    Silicon MicroGravityVenture · GB$8.1MWith 2 others
  10. Jul
    VytalVenture · DE$16MWith 3 others
  11. May
    SlamcoreGB · Amadeus Capital Partners$14MWith 8 others
  12. May
    Mantle8Series A · FR · Ventureburn$36MWith 5 others
  13. May
    BarocalSeed · GB · Ventureburn$10MWith 6 others
  14. Apr
    Hypervision SurgicalSeries A · GB · Happiness Capital$23MWith 2 others
  15. Apr
    Storm TherapeuticsSeries C · Fast Track Initiative$56MWith 5 others
  16. Apr
    First Light FusionVenture · GB$25MWith 4 others
  17. Mar
    Alesi SurgicalGrowth · GB · Firms' own news pages$7.2MWith 2 others
  18. Mar
    MGA ThermalVenture · AU · Startup Daily$12MWith 3 others
  19. Mar
    OxaSeries D · GB · Ventureburn$103MWith 8 others
  20. 2025

    24 rounds

  21. Nov
    Rage BiotechSeries A · AU · Startup Daily$29MWith 3 others
  22. Nov
    Uniphy LtdVenture · GB$3.9MSole investor
  23. Nov
    MITEK Medical MaterialsSeed$7.0MSole investor
  24. Oct
    MISSION TherapeuticsVenture · GB$13MWith 3 others
  25. Oct
    AmprologixSeed · GB$992KWith 1 other
  26. Sept
    OXCCUSeries B · GB$28MWith 2 others
  27. Aug
    AMSL AeroGrant · AU$1.9MWith 1 other
  28. Jul
    AzaneoGrant · AU$249KWith 1 other
  29. Jun
    Quantum DiceGrant · GB$2.9MWith 5 others
  30. Jun
    Inosi TherapeuticsGrant · AU$968KSole investor
  31. May
    i14Pre-seed · AU$2.6MSole investor
  32. May
    AccelerCommVenture · GB$15MWith 3 others
  33. Apr
    LumaiGB · TechStartups$10MWith 10 others
  34. Apr
    OxehealthVenture · GBUndisclosedWith 1 other
  35. Mar
    VytalGrowth · DE · Silicon Canals$16MWith 7 others
  36. Mar
    Ibex InnovationsVenture · GB$2.6MWith 3 others
  37. Mar
    CANOPUS NetworksVenture · AUUndisclosedWith 1 other
  38. Mar
    MixergyVenture · GB$15MWith 3 others
  39. Mar
    Oxford Science EnterprisesSeries B · GB$19MWith 2 others
  40. Mar
    DiffblueGrant · GB$1.3MWith 3 others
  41. Feb
    Banksia Minerals Processing (BMP)Seed · AU · Startup Daily$668KWith 2 others
  42. Feb
    First Light FusionGB · TechStartups$62MWith 1 other

An announcement gives the size of the round, not the size of this investor's cheque: the only rounds that imply a cheque are those where they were the sole named investor.

The team

Named by the firm itself, on a filing, its Form ADV or its company registration24 named

AHAedhmar HynesdirectoriCompany registersince 2019
ALAngela LeachsecretaryiCompany registersince 2008
AKAnita KidgelldirectoriCompany registersince 2023
CACaroline Anne BrowndirectoriCompany registersince 2019
DGDavid Graham BaynesdirectoriCompany registersince 2014
GSGregory Simon SmithdirectoriCompany registersince 2011
HRHeejae Richard ChaedirectoriCompany registersince 2018
MJMichael James QueendirectoriCompany registersince 2026
AJAlan John AubreydirectoriCompany registersince 2005
ACAlexander Charles Wallace SnowdirectoriCompany registersince 2002
AMAlison Margaret FieldingdirectoriCompany registersince 2005
ANAndrew Nigel Wendover BeesondirectoriCompany registersince 2001
ADAnthony David BartlettdirectoriCompany registersince 2001
BGBruce Gordon SmithdirectoriCompany registersince 2002
CSCharles Stephen WinwarddirectoriCompany registersince 2011
CWCharles William ByforddirectoriCompany registersince 2001
CJChristopher John WrightdirectoriCompany registersince 2001
CRChristopher Roger Ettrick BrookedirectoriCompany registersince 2001
DADavid Albert ThomassecretaryiCompany registersince 2001
DBDavid Bruce CampbelldirectoriCompany registersince 2004
DKDavid Knox Houston BeggdirectoriCompany registersince 2017
DRDavid Robert NorwooddirectoriCompany registersince 2001
DBDouglas Brian LiversidgedirectoriCompany registersince 2014
DJDouglas Jardine FlintdirectoriCompany registersince 2018

We also hold 9 people at this firm from the lists this database was built from: a weaker source than the filings, since a list does not say when a title ended. Login to see them.

What the register says

From the firm's own filings with the UK company register, which it must file accurately by law

Companies House
04204490, since 2001

Exits from the portfolio

Companies it backed that were later bought or listed3 in all

ActiviomicsBought by RetroScreen VirologyUndisclosedMar 2014
AriesoBought by JDSU$85MMar 2013
Techtran GroupBought by IP Group PlcUndisclosedJan 2005

An exit counts when it came after the firm's first round in the company. From historical deal records.

Who they invest alongside

The investors most often in the same rounds as IP Group. A count of rooms they were both in, not a relationship either has claimed.

Recently backed

The latest companies IP Group put money into.

Quick answers about IP Group

What does IP Group invest in?

IP Group invests most often at Venture and Seed (66% of the rounds on record), in sectors such as Smarthome, Real Estate and Prop-tech.

How active is IP Group?

174 investments on record, 21 of them in the last 12 months, and it led 1. The most recent was in Oct 2026.

What has IP Group invested in recently?

Its most recent investments on record: Matter Machine (Pre-seed, Oct 2026), Hysata (Grant, Sept 2026) and Microbiotica (Series C, Sept 2026).

How big are IP Group's cheques?

The median round it joins is $9.1M.

Does IP Group lead rounds?

Sometimes: it led 1 of its 174 investments on record (1%).

Where does IP Group invest?

Most of the companies it backs are in the United Kingdom (66%), Australia (26%) and Germany (5%).

Is IP Group investing now?

Yes: it is actively investing, with 21 investments in the last 12 months.

Who does IP Group invest alongside?

Most often Parkwalk (28 rounds together), Northstar Ventures (18 rounds together) and Innovate UK (12 rounds together).

Raising now?

Find the investors who back rounds like yours, and keep every conversation on one fundraising board.

Built from the rounds we watched, its filings and its own website, refreshed every night. How we count · Report a correction · Is this your firm? Claim it