United States · Investor

City National Bank

Last cheque observed Apr 2019. Silence since then is not evidence of inactivity: our sources miss unannounced rounds.

QuietVC firmWebsite unconfirmed

DebtSeries ASeries BInformation ServicesTelecommunicationsBanking

Cheques on record
0%of best year0cheques in 12 months, 15 on record
Since the last cheque2756days00hrs00min00sec
Median round$25MRounds led0 of 15Sole investor6 roundsExits1 from the portfolioMostly inUnited States, 100%
Pitch City National Bank

City National Bank highlights

  1. 01

    15 rounds on record

  2. 02

    Mostly Debt and Series A: 67% of its rounds

  3. 03

    Sole investor in 6 rounds, median $10M

  4. 04

    1 exits from the portfolio

What they do

Type
VC firm (from a list, unverified)
Cheque size
Not stated
Sectors
Information ServicesTelecommunicationsBanking
Based in
Los Angeles, United States
Cold pitches
Not stated

A website was listed for this organisation, but we could not confirm it belongs to the firm that wrote these cheques. Either the site never mentions them, or it turned out to be a different company sharing the name. We show neither it nor anything read from it. Tell us the right one.

The record

Every round we can evidence, newest first15 appearances

  1. 2019

    1 round

  2. Apr
    ExtendSeries A · US · FinSMEs$11MWith 3 others
  3. 2016

    3 rounds

  4. Oct
    CloudianUS · FinSMEs$41MWith 2 others
  5. Oct
    MetamarketsUS · FinSMEs$14MWith 1 other
  6. Mar
    Yieldbot$35MWith 14 others
  7. 2015

    4 rounds

  8. Nov
    DICOM GridDebt · US$3.0MSole investor
  9. Apr
    SmuleDebt · US$12MSole investor
  10. Apr
    HyTrustDebt · US$8.0MSole investor
  11. Feb
    MetamarketsSeries C · US$15MWith 7 others
  12. 2014

    5 rounds

  13. Aug
    SmarterHQDebt · US$7.0MSole investor
  14. Jul
    Bark & CoSeries B · US$15MWith 11 others
  15. Jun
    TicketManagerSeries A · US$6.0MWith 2 others
  16. Jun
    ClearCareSeries B · US$11MWith 6 others
  17. May
    Simply HiredSeries E · US$12MWith 2 others
  18. 2013

    2 rounds

  19. Jun
    BizoDebt · US · finsmes.com$13MSole investor
  20. May
    Five9Debt · US · bizjournals.com$13MSole investor

An announcement gives the size of the round, not the size of this investor's cheque: the only rounds that imply a cheque are those where they were the sole named investor.

The team

Named by the firm itself, on a filing, its Form ADV or its company registration6 named

DMDavid Matthew TerrellSr. Vice PresidentiForm ADV
GPGregory Paul FrancoeurDirectoriForm ADV
IPIvor Patrick O'KeeffePresidentiForm ADV
RJRichard Joseph BartonChief Compliance OfficeriForm ADV
RBRochelle Beth LevyChief Compliance Officer - Registered Investment AdviseriForm ADV
SASantiago Avila BretadoVp, CFOiForm ADV

We also hold 22 people at this firm from the lists this database was built from: a weaker source than the filings, since a list does not say when a title ended. Login to see them.

What the register says

From the firm's own filings with the SEC, which it must file accurately by law

$1.5Bassets it managesOct 2026
Registeredinvestment adviserfull reporting to the SEC
Legal name
RBC Securities, Inc.
SEC number
CRD 103705

What they claim to have backed

From their own portfolio page (on their website)

0 of 5 we have independently watched raise

Enable-javascriptFINRALocationsManage Email CommunicationsSIPC

Weaker than a round we watched, stronger than a list somebody sold us. A firm is far less willing to put a company on its own site that it never funded.

Exits from the portfolio

Companies it backed that were later bought or listed1 in all

BizoBought by LinkedIn$175MJul 2014

An exit counts when it came after the firm's first round in the company. From historical deal records.

Who they invest alongside

The investors most often in the same rounds as City National Bank. A count of rooms they were both in, not a relationship either has claimed.

Recently backed

The latest companies City National Bank put money into.

Mentioned on podcasts

Episodes that name City National Bank in their description, not their title.

Quick answers about City National Bank

What does City National Bank invest in?

City National Bank invests most often at Debt and Series A (67% of the rounds on record), in sectors such as Information Services, Telecommunications and Banking.

How active is City National Bank?

15 investments on record, 0 of them in the last 12 months. The most recent was in Apr 2019.

What has City National Bank invested in recently?

Its most recent investments on record: Extend (Series A, Apr 2019), Cloudian (Undisclosed round, Oct 2016) and Metamarkets (Undisclosed round, Oct 2016).

How big are City National Bank's cheques?

The median round it joins is $25M.

Does City National Bank lead rounds?

Rarely, if at all: none of its 15 investments on record names it as the lead.

Where does City National Bank invest?

Most of the companies it backs are in the United States (100%).

Is City National Bank investing now?

No investments in the last 12 months; the latest was in Apr 2019.

Who does City National Bank invest alongside?

Most often BoxGroup (2 rounds together) and RRE Ventures (2 rounds together).

Raising now?

Find the investors who back rounds like yours, and keep every conversation on one fundraising board.

Built from the rounds we watched, its filings and its own website, refreshed every night. How we count · Report a correction · Is this your firm? Claim it