United States · Investor

The Carlyle Group

Last cheque observed Aug 2026; 108 cheques on record.

Deploying nowNew fund $109M, Oct 2026Private equity

BuyoutGrowthSeedAppsFinancial ServicesIdentity Management

Deploying now
100%of best year2cheques in 12 months, 108 on record
Since the last cheque66days00hrs00min00sec
Median round$400MRounds led1 of 108Sole investor29 roundsExits26 from the portfolioMostly inUnited States, 53%
Pitch The Carlyle Group

The Carlyle Group highlights

  1. 01

    2 cheques in the last 12 months

  2. 02

    Mostly Venture and Series B: 62% of its rounds

  3. 03

    Sole investor in 29 rounds, median $19M

  4. 04

    26 exits from the portfolio

What they do

Filed 1 private fund offerings with the SEC, the most recent in 2024-10From their own website
Type
Private equity (from a list, unverified)
Cheque size
Not stated
Stages
BuyoutGrowthSeedSeries A
Sectors
AppsFinancial ServicesIdentity Management
Based in
Washington, United States
Cold pitches
Not stated

The record

Every round we can evidence, newest first108 appearances

  1. 2026

    2 rounds

  2. Aug
    CastelionSeries C · US · Crunchbase News$800MLed
  3. Aug
    CAISSeries D · US · Fintech Global$170MWith 7 others
  4. 2025

    1 round

  5. Feb
    BianalisiDebt · IT · Firms' own news pages$489MWith 2 others
  6. 2019

    1 round

  7. Mar
    DelhiveryIN · Inc42$400MWith 2 others
  8. 2018

    2 rounds

  9. Sept
    TuhuSeries E · CN · AVCJ$450MWith 6 others
  10. Aug
    iLife HealthcareUS · FinSMEs$350MSole investor
  11. 2017

    1 round

  12. Mar
    DelhiveryIN · FinSMEs$100MWith 1 other
  13. 2015

    11 rounds

  14. Nov
    AbtranVenture · IEUndisclosedSole investor
  15. Sept
    CoalfireUSUndisclosedWith 1 other
  16. Sept
    Metropolis HealthcareINUndisclosedSole investor
  17. Sept
    ProspaSeries B · AU$42MWith 3 others
  18. Aug
    Condor TravelPEUndisclosedSole investor
  19. Aug
    DEE Piping SystemsINUndisclosedSole investor
  20. Jun
    JIC Leasing Co$115MSole investor
  21. Jun
    Shanghai ANE Logistics$120MSole investor
  22. Jun
    Magna Energy$500MSole investor
  23. Apr
    Rede D'Or Sao LuizGrowth · BR$600MSole investor
  24. Mar
    Carroll CuisineIEUndisclosedSole investor
  25. 2014

    5 rounds

  26. Nov
    Diamond BankGrowth · NG$147MSole investor
  27. Sept
    AcuFocusVenture · US$21MWith 5 others
  28. Aug
    GanjiSeries E · CN$200MWith 1 other
  29. Jan
    J&J AfricaMZUndisclosedSole investor
  30. Jan
    AqueSysSeries D · US$44MWith 4 others
  31. 2013

    3 rounds

  32. Sept
    Beats ElectronicsGrowth · US$500MSole investor
  33. Jul
    Plateno Hotel GroupVenture · CNUndisclosedWith 2 others
  34. May
    Al-Nabil Food Industriespehub.comUndisclosedSole investor
  35. 2012

    2 rounds

  36. May
    VubiquityGrowth · US · fiercetelecom.com$100MSole investor
  37. May
    NeoVistaVenture · US$6.0MWith 4 others
  38. 2011

    6 rounds

  39. Nov
    AcuFocusSeries F · US · finsmes.com$65MWith 6 others
  40. Sept
    AuthentixSeries C · US · finsmes.com$15MSole investor
  41. Aug
    Value and Budget Housing CorporationGrowth · IN · finsmes.com$26MSole investor
  42. Apr
    PixelOpticsSeries D · US · pixeloptics.com$45MWith 3 others
  43. Feb
    NeoVistaSeries E · US · fis.dowjones.com$33MWith 5 others
  44. Feb
    ELENZASeries B · US · elenza.com$24MWith 2 others
  45. 2010

    2 rounds

  46. Nov
    CtripSeries B · CNUndisclosedWith 2 others
  47. Jun
    AqueSysSeries C · US · onbiovc.com$35MWith 4 others
  48. 2009

    6 rounds

  49. Oct
    CanestaVenture · US · canesta.com$16MWith 2 others
  50. Oct
    SupercircuitsVenture · US · carlyle.com$10MSole investor
  51. Sept
    TradeBeamVenture · US · deals.venturebeat.com$7.0MWith 5 others
  52. Sept
    Actelis NetworksVenture · US · archive.globes.co.il$10MWith 9 others

An announcement gives the size of the round, not the size of this investor's cheque: the only rounds that imply a cheque are those where they were the sole named investor.

The team

Named by the firm itself, on a filing, its Form ADV or its company registration24 named

AJAdam J. PalmerAuthorized PersoniFiling they signed
AWAdam W. GlucksmanAuthorized PersoniFiling they signed
ANAditya NarainPrincipal of the General Partner.iFiling they signed
ARAkhil R. BansalManaging Director of the general partner of the General Partner.iFiling they signed
ASAlan StraussDirector of Investor Relations of the ManageriFiling they signed
ARAlex R. PopovManaging Director of the general partner of the General Partner.iFiling they signed
APAlexander PopovAuthorized Person of the General Partner of the General Partner.iFiling they signed
ARAlexander RasnavadExecutive Officer, PromoteriFiling they signed
AMAllan M. HoltAuthorized PersoniFiling they signed
AYAnat Yasmeen HoltzmanAuthorized Person of the General Partner of the Ontario GP and Manager of the Lux GPiFiling they signed
ABAndrea B. PekalaAuthorized PersoniFiling they signed
ABAndrew B. MarinoExecutive Officer of the General Partner of the GPiFiling they signed
ACAndrew CunninghamAuthorized Person of the General Partner of the General Partner.iFiling they signed
AGAndrew G. ChungAuthorized PersoniFiling they signed
AGAndrew GallowayManager of the Issuer's Managing MemberiFiling they signed
AJAndrew JohnsonManager of the Issuer's Managing MemberiFiling they signed
AWAnthony W. Beovichof the General PartneriFiling they signed
ACAren C. LeeKongChief Executive Officer, President and Interested TrusteeiFiling they signed
ADAshish DodiaManager of the Issuer's Managing MemberiFiling they signed
BABarbara A. D'AnielloExecutive Officer, DirectoriFiling they signed
BRBarbara R. ImbsAuthorized Person of the Luxembourg General PartneriFiling they signed
BEBarbara E. KocsisExecutive OfficeriFiling they signed
BEBarbara E. KoscisExecutive OfficeriFiling they signed
BGBarbara G. MurphyAuthorized PersoniFiling they signed

We also hold 440 people at this firm from the lists this database was built from: a weaker source than the filings, since a list does not say when a title ended. Login to see them.

What the register says

From the firm's own filings with the SEC, which it must file accurately by law

$460Bassets it manages, 6 advisers combinedOct 2026
8+funds on filenumbered funds in its name
Registeredinvestment adviserfull reporting to the SEC
Legal name
Carlyle Investment Management L.L.C.
SEC number
CRD 162303

Funds on its Form ADV

473 private funds, $238B in gross assets · filed Jul 2024

Private equity 291Securitised assets 81Real estate 26

  1. Carlyle Partners VIIPrivate equity837 investors$23B
  2. Carlyle Partners VIIIPrivate equity824 investors$8.5B
  3. Carlyle Europe Partners VPrivate equity571 investors$7.8B
  4. Carlyle ASIA Partners VPrivate equity373 investors$6.4B
  5. Carlyle Property Investors, L.P.Real estate194 investors$6.1B
  6. Carlyle Credit Opportunities Fund IIPrivate equity194 investors$5.6B
  7. Carlyle Partners VIPrivate equity680 investors$5.4B
  8. Carlyle Realty Partners IXReal estate345 investors$4.4B
  9. Carlyle Realty Partners VIIIReal estate354 investors$4.3B
  10. Alpinvest Secondaries Fund (Offshore) VII, L.P.Private equity97 investors$3.4B

And 463 more on the filing.

Who backs their funds

4 LPs on record in The Carlyle Group's funds

Committed
$11B
Funds
21
Vintages
2003 to 2022

The institutions that put money into its funds, which the firm then invests in companies.Source: the pension's own report, latest Jun 2026.

  • California Public Employees' Retirement System (CalPERS)13 funds$4.7B
    FundVintageCommitted
    Carlyle Partners VIII2022$177M
    Greenleaf Co-Invest Partners2021$1.4B
    AlpInvest Secondaries Fund VII2021$374M
    Top Castle Sidecar VII2020$500M
    Carlyle Europe Partners V, S.C.Sp.2019$166M
    Carlyle Partners VII2018$300M
    Carlyle Asia Partners V2018$125M
    Carlyle Strategic Partners IV2016$150M

    and 5 more

  • California State Teachers Retirement System12 funds$4.6B
    FundVintageCommitted
    AlpInvest C Fund II2021$1.0B
    AlpInvest Co-Investment Fund VIII2021$250M
    Carlyle Europe Partners V, S.C.Sp.2019$176M
    AlpInvest C Fund2018$725M
    Carlyle Partners VII2018$500M
    Carlyle Asia Partners V2018$250M
    AlpInvest Co-Investment Fund VII2017$150M
    Carlyle Europe Partners IV2015$176M

    and 4 more

  • Washington State Investment Board2 funds$900M
    FundVintageCommitted
    Carlyle Partners VIII2022$300M
    Carlyle Partners VII2018$600M
  • Minnesota State Board of Investments5 funds$850M
    FundVintageCommitted
    Carlyle Realty Partners IX2021$300M
    Carlyle Partners VIII2021$150M
    Carlyle Realty Partners VIII2017$150M
    Carlyle Partners VII2017$150M
    Carlyle Strategic Partners IV2016$100M

Exits from the portfolio

Companies it backed that were later bought or listed26 in all

CoalfireBought by The Carlyle GroupUndisclosedSept 2015
AqueSysBought by Allergan$300MSept 2015
GanjiBought by 58.com$446MApr 2015
Appfluent TechnologyBought by Attunity$18MMar 2015
Cube OpticsBought by HUBER+SUHNERUndisclosedOct 2014
Beats ElectronicsBought by Apple$3.0BMay 2014
eScreenBought by Alere$270MMar 2012
HealthCentralBought by Remedy Health MediaUndisclosedNov 2011
SchoolnetBought by Pearson Education$230MApr 2011
CarefxBought by HarrisUndisclosedFeb 2011
CanestaBought by MicrosoftUndisclosedOct 2010
QinetiQBought by ManTech$60MSept 2010
StarbakBought by BurstPoint NetworksUndisclosedSept 2010
TradeBeamBought by CDC SoftwareUndisclosedMay 2010
eScreenBought by Pembrooke$27MJan 2010
ExaprotectBought by LogLogicUndisclosedApr 2009
Secure ElementBought by FortinetUndisclosedSept 2008
Liquid EnginesBought by Thomson ReutersUndisclosedAug 2008
LipoSonixBought by Medicis Pharmaceutical$300MJun 2008
LVL7 SystemsBought by Broadcom$62MNov 2006

The latest 20 here. An exit counts when it came after the firm's first round in the company. From historical deal records.

Companies it bought

Acquisitions by the firm itself

PA Consulting GroupUndisclosedSept 2015
CoalfireUndisclosedSept 2015
Blyth$98MAug 2015
Novetta SolutionsUndisclosedAug 2015
HermesUndisclosedAug 2015
Veritas Software$8.0BAug 2015
Nationwide Accident Repair ServicesUndisclosedJun 2015
PrimesportUndisclosedFeb 2015
Malaga Peaking PlantUndisclosedJan 2015
AxleTech InternationalUndisclosedJan 2015
NewGen KnowledgeWorks PrivateUndisclosedDec 2014
Dealogic$700MNov 2014

Who they invest alongside

The investors most often in the same rounds as The Carlyle Group. A count of rooms they were both in, not a relationship either has claimed.

Recently backed

The latest companies The Carlyle Group put money into.

Mentioned on podcasts

Episodes that name The Carlyle Group in their description, not their title.

Quick answers about The Carlyle Group

What does The Carlyle Group invest in?

The Carlyle Group invests most often at Venture and Series B (62% of the rounds on record), in sectors such as Apps, Financial Services and Identity Management.

How active is The Carlyle Group?

108 investments on record, 2 of them in the last 12 months, and it led 1. The most recent was in Aug 2026.

What has The Carlyle Group invested in recently?

Its most recent investments on record: Castelion (Series C, Aug 2026), CAIS (Series D, Aug 2026) and Bianalisi (Debt, Feb 2025).

How big are The Carlyle Group's cheques?

The median round it joins is $400M.

Does The Carlyle Group lead rounds?

Sometimes: it led 1 of its 108 investments on record (1%).

Where does The Carlyle Group invest?

Most of the companies it backs are in the United States (53%), India (14%) and China (11%).

Is The Carlyle Group investing now?

Yes: it is actively investing, with 2 investments in the last 12 months.

Who does The Carlyle Group invest alongside?

Most often Accuitive Medical Ventures (12 rounds together), SV Life Sciences (10 rounds together) and Versant Ventures (9 rounds together).

Raising now?

Find the investors who back rounds like yours, and keep every conversation on one fundraising board.

Built from the rounds we watched, its filings and its own website, refreshed every night. How we count · Report a correction · Is this your firm? Claim it