Netherlands · Investor

Robeco

Last cheque observed Jul 2013. Silence since then is not evidence of inactivity: our sources miss unannounced rounds.

QuietNew fund $1.9B, Mar 2016Private equity

SeedSeries ASeries BFood TrucksFood And BeverageAsset Management

Cheques on record
0%of best year0cheques in 12 months, 10 on record
Since the last cheque4836days00hrs00min00sec
Median round$20MRounds led0 of 10Exits4 from the portfolioMostly inUnited States, 80%
Pitch Robeco

Robeco highlights

  1. 01

    10 rounds on record

  2. 02

    Mostly Series E and Venture: 60% of its rounds

  3. 03

    4 exits from the portfolio

What they do

Type
Private equity (from a list, unverified)
Cheque size
Not stated
Stages
SeedSeries ASeries BGrowth
Sectors
Food TrucksFood And BeverageAsset Management
Based in
Rotterdam, Netherlands
Cold pitches
Not stated

The record

Every round we can evidence, newest first10 appearances

  1. 2013

    1 round

  2. Jul
    General FusionSeries C · CA · canadianprivateequity.comUndisclosedWith 7 others
  3. 2010

    1 round

  4. Dec
    Fallbrook TechnologiesSeries E · US · finsmes.com$39MWith 4 others
  5. 2009

    2 rounds

  6. Apr
    Energy and Power SolutionsVenture · US$30MWith 2 others
  7. Jan
    Fallbrook TechnologiesVenture · US · xconomy.com$25MWith 1 other
  8. 2008

    3 rounds

  9. Jul
    Eco PlasticsSeries B · GB$12MWith 1 other
  10. Apr
    ReliOnSeries E · US$5.0MWith 5 others
  11. Apr
    EnerpulseSeries E · US · venturebeat.com$5.0MWith 1 other
  12. 2007

    3 rounds

  13. Dec
    EPSVenture · US · deals.venturebeat.com$20MWith 1 other
  14. Dec
    Energy and Power SolutionsSeries A · US$20MWith 1 other
  15. Oct
    GridPointSeries D · US · gridpoint.com$49MWith 5 others

An announcement gives the size of the round, not the size of this investor's cheque: the only rounds that imply a cheque are those where they were the sole named investor.

The team

Named by the firm itself, on a filing, its Form ADV or its company registration23 named

APAndrew Paul CunninghamChief Compliance OfficeriForm ADV
CSCharles S. Crow IIIDirectoriFiling they signed
CRColleen R RuschExecutive Officer, DirectoriFiling they signed
DSDavid SargisonDirectoriFiling they signed
DDDeann D MorganExecutive Officer, DirectoriFiling they signed
IAIgnacio Alejandro Alcantara VazquezBusiness ManageriForm ADV
JGJames G. ClearyDirectoriFiling they signed
JFJoseph F. FeeneyExecutive OfficeriFiling they signed
JCJustin C FerriExecutive Officer, DirectoriFiling they signed
MDMalick D (mio) BadjieBoard Member, TreasureriForm ADV
M(Marcel (nmn) PrinsBoard Member, PresidentiForm ADV
MEMark E. DonovanExecutive OfficeriFiling they signed
MGMatthew G. DavisExecutive OfficeriFiling they signed
MGMichiel G. PrinszeDirectoriFiling they signed
PFPaul F. HealeyExecutive OfficeriFiling they signed
PMPaul MortonExecutive Officer, DirectoriFiling they signed
TGThomas G. Parsons, Jr.DirectoriFiling they signed
TWThomas W. LeeExecutive Officer, DirectoriFiling they signed
TJTimothy J. StewartDirectoriFiling they signed
TJTom J. ParsonsDirectoriFiling they signed
VJVijayabalan J. MurugesaDirectoriFiling they signed
WGWilliam G. ButterlyExecutive OfficeriFiling they signed
WGWilliam G. Butterly, IIIExecutive OfficeriFiling they signed

We also hold 83 people at this firm from the lists this database was built from: a weaker source than the filings, since a list does not say when a title ended. Login to see them.

What the register says

From the firm's own filings with the SEC, which it must file accurately by law

$4.8Bassets it managesOct 2026
Registeredinvestment adviserfull reporting to the SEC
Legal name
Robeco Institutional Asset Management US INC
SEC number
CRD 107367

Exits from the portfolio

Companies it backed that were later bought or listed4 in all

GridPointBought by Twenty First Century UtilitiesUndisclosedNov 2015
ReliOnBought by Plug PowerUndisclosedApr 2014
EPSBought by ConnectEduUndisclosedNov 2012
Energy and Power SolutionsListedUndisclosedMar 2010

An exit counts when it came after the firm's first round in the company. From historical deal records.

Who they invest alongside

The investors most often in the same rounds as Robeco. A count of rooms they were both in, not a relationship either has claimed.

Quick answers about Robeco

What does Robeco invest in?

Robeco invests most often at Series E and Venture (60% of the rounds on record), in sectors such as Food Trucks, Food And Beverage and Asset Management.

How active is Robeco?

10 investments on record, 0 of them in the last 12 months. The most recent was in Jul 2013.

How big are Robeco's cheques?

The median round it joins is $20M.

Does Robeco lead rounds?

Rarely, if at all: none of its 10 investments on record names it as the lead.

Where does Robeco invest?

Most of the companies it backs are in the United States (80%), Canada (10%) and the United Kingdom (10%).

Is Robeco investing now?

No investments in the last 12 months; the latest was in Jul 2013.

Who does Robeco invest alongside?

Most often NGEN Partners (5 rounds together), Altira Group (2 rounds together) and Chrysalix Venture Capital (2 rounds together).

What kind of investor is Robeco?

Robeco is a private equity firm based in Rotterdam, Netherlands.

Raising now?

Find the investors who back rounds like yours, and keep every conversation on one fundraising board.

Built from the rounds we watched, its filings and its own website, refreshed every night. How we count · Report a correction · Is this your firm? Claim it