United States · Investor

Principal Financial Group

Last cheque observed Apr 2005. Silence since then is not evidence of inactivity: our sources miss unannounced rounds.

QuietGrowth equity

GrowthSeries E

Cheques on record
0%of best year0cheques in 12 months, 2 on record
Since the last cheque7869days00hrs00min00sec
Median round$3.5MRounds led0 of 2Exits1 from the portfolio
Pitch Principal Financial Group

Principal Financial Group highlights

  1. 01

    2 rounds on record

  2. 02

    Mostly Growth and Series E: 100% of its rounds

  3. 03

    1 exits from the portfolio

What they do

Type
Growth equity (from a list, unverified)
Cheque size
Not stated
Based in
DES MOINES, United States
Cold pitches
Not stated

The record

Every round we can evidence, newest first2 appearances

  1. 2005

    1 round

  2. Apr
    Palisade SystemsSeries E · US · ca.sys-con.com$2.0MWith 2 others
  3. 2004

    1 round

  4. Apr
    Lighthouse CommunicationsGrowth · US$5.0MWith 1 other

An announcement gives the size of the round, not the size of this investor's cheque: the only rounds that imply a cheque are those where they were the sole named investor.

The team

Named by the firm itself, on a filing, its Form ADV or its company registration13 named

ACAmy Christine FriedrichDirectoriForm ADV
CKCarla Kay BeitzelVice President of DistributioniForm ADV
CTChad Thomas ClaireChief Information OfficeriForm ADV
CACody Anthony LawlerHead of Supervision, Head of OperationsiForm ADV
CACraig Alan SpadaforaSenior Vice President / Head of Advisory and PlatformiForm ADV
DSDaniel Simon VanwinklePsi AML OfficeriForm ADV
DMDawn Marie RobertsChief Financial OfficeriForm ADV
DDDeanna Dawnette Strable-SoethoutDirectoriForm ADV
DJDouglas John RantsChief Information Security OfficeriForm ADV
KAKenneth Allen MccullumDirectoriForm ADV
MFMichael Francis MurrayPresident/Chief Executive Officer/ChairiForm ADV
NPNathan Paul SchelhaasDirectoriForm ADV
TJThomas John DroganChief Compliance OfficeriForm ADV

We also hold 15 people at this firm from the lists this database was built from: a weaker source than the filings, since a list does not say when a title ended. Login to see them.

What the register says

From the firm's own filings with the SEC, which it must file accurately by law

$18Bassets it manages, 2 advisers combinedOct 2026
Registeredinvestment adviserfull reporting to the SEC
Legal name
Principal Securities, Inc.
SEC number
CRD 297324

Exits from the portfolio

Companies it backed that were later bought or listed1 in all

Palisade SystemsBought by Absolute SoftwareUndisclosedJun 2013

An exit counts when it came after the firm's first round in the company. From historical deal records.

Who they invest alongside

The investors most often in the same rounds as Principal Financial Group. A count of rooms they were both in, not a relationship either has claimed.

Quick answers about Principal Financial Group

What does Principal Financial Group invest in?

Principal Financial Group invests most often at Growth and Series E (100% of the rounds on record).

How active is Principal Financial Group?

2 investments on record, 0 of them in the last 12 months. The most recent was in Apr 2005.

How big are Principal Financial Group's cheques?

The median round it joins is $3.5M.

Is Principal Financial Group investing now?

No investments in the last 12 months; the latest was in Apr 2005.

Who does Principal Financial Group invest alongside?

Most often Equity Dynamics, Inc. (2 rounds together).

What kind of investor is Principal Financial Group?

Principal Financial Group is a growth equity firm based in DES MOINES, United States.

How much does Principal Financial Group manage?

About $18B, as regulatory assets under management, 2 advisers added together (Oct 2026).

When was Principal Financial Group founded?

Principal Financial Group was founded in 1879.

Raising now?

Find the investors who back rounds like yours, and keep every conversation on one fundraising board.

Built from the rounds we watched, its filings and its own website, refreshed every night. How we count · Report a correction · Is this your firm? Claim it