United States · Investor

Prairie Capital

Last cheque observed Jun 2014. Silence since then is not evidence of inactivity: our sources miss unannounced rounds.

QuietNew fund $33M, Apr 2021Private equity

SeedSeries AFinancial ServicesSocial MediaAsset Management

Cheques on record
0%of best year0cheques in 12 months, 3 on record
Since the last cheque4528days00hrs00min00sec
Median round$34MRounds led0 of 3Sole investor2 roundsExits1 from the portfolio
Pitch Prairie Capital

Prairie Capital highlights

  1. 01

    3 rounds on record

  2. 02

    Mostly Venture and Growth: 100% of its rounds

  3. 03

    Sole investor in 2 rounds, median $34M

  4. 04

    1 exits from the portfolio

What they do

Filed 1 private fund offering with the SEC, the most recent in 2021-04From their own website
Type
Private equity (from a list, unverified)
Cheque size
Not stated
Stages
SeedSeries A
Sectors
Financial ServicesSocial MediaAsset Management
Based in
Chicago, United States
Cold pitches
Not stated

The record

Every round we can evidence, newest first3 appearances

  1. 2014

    1 round

  2. Jun
    DRB SystemsVenture · USUndisclosedSole investor
  3. 2013

    1 round

  4. Jan
    Riverchase Dermatology and Cosmetic SurgeryGrowth · US$34MSole investor
  5. 2003

    1 round

  6. Feb
    Survey Sampling internationalVenture · NLUndisclosedWith 1 other

An announcement gives the size of the round, not the size of this investor's cheque: the only rounds that imply a cheque are those where they were the sole named investor.

The team

Named by the firm itself, on a filing, its Form ADV or its company registration10 named

CBC. Bryan DanielsExecutive Officer, PromoteriFiling they signed
CBCharles Bryan DanielsFounding PartneriForm ADV
CTChristopher Thomas KillackeyPartner and Senior Principal; Limited PartneriForm ADV
DMDarren M. SnyderExecutive Officer, PromoteriFiling they signed
NJNathan Joseph GoodManaging Partner and Senior Principal; Limited PartneriForm ADV
PJPatrick James JensenPartner and Senior Principal; Limited PartneriForm ADV
SMSean Martin McnallyPartner and Senior Principal; Limited PartneriForm ADV
SVStephen Vincent KingExecutive Officer, PromoteriFiling they signed
SJSteven J. GroyaExecutive Officer, PromoteriFiling they signed
THThomas Houston WeidawChief Financial Officer and Chief Compliance OfficeriForm ADV

We also hold 25 people at this firm from the lists this database was built from: a weaker source than the filings, since a list does not say when a title ended. Login to see them.

What the register says

From the firm's own filings with the SEC, which it must file accurately by law

$870Massets it managesOct 2026
Registeredinvestment adviserfull reporting to the SEC
Legal name
Prairie Management Company, L.P.
SEC number
CRD 155566

Funds on its Form ADV

6 private funds, $1.1B in gross assets · filed Mar 2024

  1. Prairie Capital VII QP, L.P.Private equity193 investors$501M
  2. Prairie Capital VI QP, L.P.Private equity204 investors$365M
  3. Prairie Capital V QP L.P.Private equity108 investors$131M
  4. Prairie Capital VI, L.P.Private equity78 investors$71M
  5. Prairie Capital VII, L.P.Private equity61 investors$35M
  6. Prairie Capital V L.P.Private equity77 investors$27M

Exits from the portfolio

Companies it backed that were later bought or listed1 in all

Survey Sampling internationalBought by HGGC$500MNov 2014

An exit counts when it came after the firm's first round in the company. From historical deal records.

Quick answers about Prairie Capital

What does Prairie Capital invest in?

Prairie Capital invests most often at Venture and Growth (100% of the rounds on record), in sectors such as Financial Services, Social Media and Asset Management.

How active is Prairie Capital?

3 investments on record, 0 of them in the last 12 months. The most recent was in Jun 2014.

How big are Prairie Capital's cheques?

The median round it joins is $34M.

Is Prairie Capital investing now?

No investments in the last 12 months; the latest was in Jun 2014.

What kind of investor is Prairie Capital?

Prairie Capital is a private equity firm based in Chicago, United States.

How much does Prairie Capital manage?

About $870M, as regulatory assets under management (Oct 2026).

Has Prairie Capital raised a new fund?

Its latest fund filing with the SEC was in Apr 2021, reporting $33M raised.

When was Prairie Capital founded?

Prairie Capital was founded in 1997.

Raising now?

Find the investors who back rounds like yours, and keep every conversation on one fundraising board.

Built from the rounds we watched, its filings and its own website, refreshed every night. How we count · Report a correction · Is this your firm? Claim it