United States · Investor

Great Hill Partners

Last cheque observed May 2019. Silence since then is not evidence of inactivity: our sources miss unannounced rounds.

QuietPrivate equity

SeedSeries ASeries BFinancial ServicesHealthcareTechnology

Cheques on record
0%of best year0cheques in 12 months, 30 on record
Since the last cheque2712days00hrs00min00sec
Median round$50MRounds led1 of 30Sole investor22 roundsExits3 from the portfolioMostly inUnited States, 86%
Pitch Great Hill Partners

Great Hill Partners highlights

  1. 01

    30 rounds on record

  2. 02

    Mostly Growth and Series A: 80% of its rounds

  3. 03

    Sole investor in 22 rounds, median $68M

  4. 04

    3 exits from the portfolio

What they do

We are currently investing a $4.65 billion fund targeting exceptional high-growth companies.From their own website
Type
Private equity (from a list, unverified)
Cheque size
Not stated
Stages
SeedSeries ASeries BGrowthPre-IPO
Sectors
Financial ServicesHealthcareTechnology
Based in
Boston, United States
Cold pitches
Not stated

The record

Every round we can evidence, newest first30 appearances

  1. 2019

    3 rounds

  2. May
    MissionUS · FinSMEs$1.5MSole investor
  3. May
    TodayTixUS · FinSMEs$73MSole investor
  4. Mar
    MineralTreeUS · FinSMEs$50MLed
  5. 2018

    2 rounds

  6. Jul
    The RealRealSeries G · US · Prnewswire$115MWith 1 other
  7. Jan
    PaytronixUS · FinSMEs$65MSole investor
  8. 2017

    3 rounds

  9. Nov
    ReliamUS · TechCrunch$1.7MSole investor
  10. Aug
    SugarfinaUS · FinSMEs$35MSole investor
  11. Jun
    The RealRealGrowth · US · FinSMEs$50MSole investor
  12. 2015

    3 rounds

  13. Aug
    PlanSource HoldingsSeries C · US$70MSole investor
  14. Jul
    Reward GatewayGrowth · GB$218MSole investor
  15. Jun
    Chrome River TechnologiesSeries D · US$100MSole investor
  16. 2014

    5 rounds

  17. Nov
    BlueSnapGrowth · US$50MWith 2 others
  18. Oct
    Momondo Group LimitedGrowth · GB$128MSole investor
  19. Jul
    Qualifacts SystemsUSUndisclosedSole investor
  20. May
    Network MerchantsGrowth · USUndisclosedSole investor
  21. Apr
    BswiftGrowth · US$51MSole investor
  22. 2013

    2 rounds

  23. Dec
    DealerRaterGrowth · US · greathillpartners.comUndisclosedSole investor
  24. Feb
    IntappUS · finsmes.comUndisclosedSole investor
  25. 2012

    2 rounds

  26. Dec
    WayfairVenture · US · venturebeat.com$36MWith 3 others
  27. Mar
    Veracity Payment SolutionsGrowth · US · freshnews.com$80MSole investor
  28. 2011

    2 rounds

  29. Sept
    BlueSnapGrowth · US$115MSole investor
  30. Jun
    WayfairSeries A · US · masshightech.com$165MWith 3 others
  31. 2010

    2 rounds

  32. Jul
    Dun & Bradstreet Credibility Corp.Series A · US · dandb.com$100MSole investor
  33. Jul
    Dun & Bradstreet Credibility CorporationGrowth · US$200MSole investor
  34. 2008

    1 round

  35. Jun
    BlueSnapSeries A · venturebeat.com$18MWith 1 other
  36. 2007

    1 round

  37. May
    Gorilla Nation MediaGrowth · US$50MSole investor
  38. 2004

    1 round

  39. Dec
    PaychoiceSeries A · AUUndisclosedWith 1 other
  40. 2003

    2 rounds

  41. Jul
    Northface UniversitySeries B · US$13MSole investor
  42. Apr
    Neumont UniversitySeries B · US$13MSole investor
  43. 2000

    1 round

  44. Jun
    BuscapeSeries A · BR$6.0MWith 3 others

An announcement gives the size of the round, not the size of this investor's cheque: the only rounds that imply a cheque are those where they were the sole named investor.

The team

Named by the firm itself, on a filing, its Form ADV or its company registration5 named

CSChristopher S GaffneyExecutive OfficeriForm ADV
JSJohn Stephen DwyerChief Financial Officer / Chief Compliance OfficeriForm ADV
MDMark Douglas TaberExecutive OfficeriForm ADV
MTMatthew T VettelExecutive OfficeriForm ADV
MAMichael Andrew KuminExecutive OfficeriForm ADV

We also hold 86 people at this firm from the lists this database was built from: a weaker source than the filings, since a list does not say when a title ended. Login to see them.

What the register says

From the firm's own filings with the SEC, which it must file accurately by law

$19Bassets it managesOct 2026
Registeredinvestment adviserfull reporting to the SEC
Legal name
Great HILL Partners, LP
SEC number
CRD 158158

Funds on its Form ADV

34 private funds, $15B in gross assets · filed Mar 2024

  1. Great Hill Equity Partners VI, L.P.Private equity130 investors$2.9B
  2. Great Hill Equity Partners VIII, L.P.Private equity192 investors$2.3B
  3. Great Hill Equity Partners VII, L.P.Private equity154 investors$1.8B
  4. Great Hill Equity Partners V, L.P.Private equity141 investors$1.1B
  5. Great Hill Equity Partners IV, L.P.Private equity86 investors$899M
  6. Great Hill Equity Partners VIII-PREF PV, L.P.Private equity21 investors$817M
  7. Great Hill Equity Partners VIII-PREF, L.P.Private equity38 investors$700M
  8. Great Hill Equity Partners VII-PREF, L.P.Private equity26 investors$583M
  9. Great Hill Equity Partners VII-PREF PV, L.P.Private equity21 investors$462M
  10. Great Hill Equity Partners VIII PV, L.P.Private equity32 investors$461M

And 24 more on the filing.

What they claim to have backed

From their own portfolio page (on their website)

0 of 1 we have independently watched raise

Icx

Weaker than a round we watched, stronger than a list somebody sold us. A firm is far less willing to put a company on its own site that it never funded.

Exits from the portfolio

Companies it backed that were later bought or listed3 in all

BswiftBought by Aetna$400MNov 2014
BuscapeBought by Naspers$374MOct 2009

An exit counts when it came after the firm's first round in the company. From historical deal records.

Companies it bought

Acquisitions by the firm itself

Yoga WorksUndisclosedJul 2014
Legacy.comUndisclosedApr 2012

Who they invest alongside

The investors most often in the same rounds as Great Hill Partners. A count of rooms they were both in, not a relationship either has claimed.

Recently backed

The latest companies Great Hill Partners put money into.

On podcasts

1 episode naming Great Hill Partners in the title, and 2 more that mention it.

Mentioned in

Quick answers about Great Hill Partners

What does Great Hill Partners invest in?

Great Hill Partners invests most often at Growth and Series A (80% of the rounds on record), in sectors such as Financial Services, Healthcare and Technology.

How active is Great Hill Partners?

30 investments on record, 0 of them in the last 12 months, and it led 1. The most recent was in May 2019.

What has Great Hill Partners invested in recently?

Its most recent investments on record: Mission (Undisclosed round, May 2019), TodayTix (Undisclosed round, May 2019) and MineralTree (Undisclosed round, Mar 2019).

How big are Great Hill Partners's cheques?

The median round it joins is $50M.

Does Great Hill Partners lead rounds?

Sometimes: it led 1 of its 30 investments on record (3%).

Where does Great Hill Partners invest?

Most of the companies it backs are in the United States (86%) and the United Kingdom (7%).

Is Great Hill Partners investing now?

No investments in the last 12 months; the latest was in May 2019.

Who does Great Hill Partners invest alongside?

Most often Battery Ventures (2 rounds together), HarbourVest Partners (2 rounds together) and Spark Capital (2 rounds together).

Raising now?

Find the investors who back rounds like yours, and keep every conversation on one fundraising board.

Built from the rounds we watched, its filings and its own website, refreshed every night. How we count · Report a correction · Is this your firm? Claim it