Canada · Investor

CIBC

Last cheque observed Sep 2026; 116 cheques on record.

Deploying nowVC firmWebsite unconfirmed

DebtVentureSeries BEnterprise SoftwareHealth CareBanking

Deploying now
61%of best year30cheques in 12 months, 116 on record
Since the last cheque32days00hrs00min00sec
Median round$26MRounds led0 of 116Sole investor9 roundsMostly inCanada, 46%
Pitch CIBC

CIBC highlights

  1. 01

    30 cheques in the last 12 months

  2. 02

    Mostly Debt and Venture: 87% of its rounds

  3. 03

    Sole investor in 9 rounds, median $13M

What they do

Type
VC firm (from a list, unverified)
Cheque size
Not stated
Sectors
Enterprise SoftwareHealth CareBanking
Based in
Toronto, Canada
Cold pitches
Not stated

A website was listed for this organisation, but we could not confirm it belongs to the firm that wrote these cheques. Either the site never mentions them, or it turned out to be a different company sharing the name. We show neither it nor anything read from it. Tell us the right one.

The record

Every round we can evidence, newest first116 appearances

  1. 2026

    22 rounds

  2. Sept
    AxyaSeries A · CA · BetaKit$12MWith 7 others
  3. Jul
    Modo EnergyDebt · GB$17MWith 5 others
  4. Jun
    Definium TherapeuticsUS$805MWith 1 other
  5. May
    EnsoDataVenture · USUndisclosedWith 4 others
  6. May
    Mustgrow BiologicsCA$2.7MSole investor
  7. May
    Triple Flag Precious MetalsDebt · CA$300MWith 4 others
  8. Apr
    CertifIDSeries C · US · Ventureburn$48MWith 3 others
  9. Apr
    VortexaDebt · GB$50MWith 5 others
  10. Apr
    Vena SolutionsVenture · CAUndisclosedWith 3 others
  11. Apr
    Pulse Clean EnergyDebt · GB$71MWith 3 others
  12. Apr
    REGVenture · GBUndisclosedWith 1 other
  13. Mar
    ArevonDebt · US$482MWith 3 others
  14. Mar
    Gradient AIVenture · USUndisclosedWith 3 others
  15. Feb
    Cannara BiotechCA$4.6MWith 2 others
  16. Feb
    Lydian EnergyDebt · US$689MSole investor
  17. Feb
    Logan EnergyGB$47MWith 2 others
  18. Jan
    Mustgrow BiologicsCA$1.4MSole investor
  19. Jan
    Low CarbonDebt · GB$683MWith 4 others
  20. Jan
    KlirDebt · US$7.5MWith 5 others
  21. Jan
    RecareVenture · DE$36MWith 1 other
  22. Jan
    SB EnergyVenture · US$1.0BWith 4 others
  23. Jan
    Science&HumansSeries A · CA$5.0MWith 2 others
  24. 2025

    41 rounds

  25. Dec
    BinSentryDebt · CA$25MWith 3 others
  26. Dec
    Zenobe EnergyVenture · GBUndisclosedWith 2 others
  27. Dec
    Tribe Property TechnologiesDebt · CA$11MSole investor
  28. Nov
    DealMakerGrowth · US$20MWith 1 other
  29. Nov
    PharmaCorp RxCA$14MSole investor
  30. Nov
    Akaysha EnergyDebt · AU$299MWith 4 others
  31. Nov
    Goodleaf FarmsVenture · CA$37MWith 1 other
  32. Oct
    FormalizeSeries B · DK · Silicon Canals$35MWith 5 others
  33. Oct
    MindMed$225MWith 1 other
  34. Oct
    My FLiiPDebt · CA$1.5MWith 4 others
  35. Oct
    Tenaz EnergyDebt · CA$83MWith 1 other
  36. Oct
    G Mining Ventures Corp.Debt · CA$278MWith 3 others
  37. Sept
    Fidra EnergyDebt · GB$804MWith 4 others
  38. Sept
    Energy Transition Centre foundationVenture · CA$10MWith 2 others
  39. Sept
    Discovery SilverDebt · CA$250MWith 2 others
  40. Aug
    Smart PensionDebt · GB$81MWith 3 others
  41. Aug
    Bench IQSeed · CA$5.3MWith 5 others
  42. Aug
    MedMe HealthVenture · CAUndisclosedWith 4 others

An announcement gives the size of the round, not the size of this investor's cheque: the only rounds that imply a cheque are those where they were the sole named investor.

The team

Named by the firm itself, on a filing, its Form ADV or its company registration11 named

DMDavid Michael ScandiffioPresident and Chief Executive OfficeriForm ADV
EDEdward DodigDirectoriForm ADV
E(Elena (nmn) TomasoneVice President, Business and Investment ServicesiForm ADV
F(Frank (nmn) VivacquaDirectoriForm ADV
MHMichael Henry LerouxDirectoriForm ADV
MJMudit JainDirectoriForm ADV
RFRobert Francis CancelliDirectoriForm ADV
SKSaher KazmiChief Compliance OfficeriForm ADV
SAStephen Anthony GittensDirectoriForm ADV
WSWilhelmina Stephania DitchfieldChairiForm ADV
WWWinnie WakayamaChief Financial OfficeriForm ADV

We also hold 44 people at this firm from the lists this database was built from: a weaker source than the filings, since a list does not say when a title ended. Login to see them.

What the register says

From the firm's own filings with the SEC, which it must file accurately by law

$163Bassets it managesOct 2026
Registeredinvestment adviserfull reporting to the SEC
Legal name
CIBC Asset Management Inc.
SEC number
CRD 106508

Funds on its Form ADV

5 private funds, $4.8B in gross assets · filed Nov 2024

Liquidity 4Hedge 1

  1. CIBC Money Market FundLiquidity243,278 investors$2.7B
  2. Imperial Money Market POOLLiquidity8,050 investors$1.3B
  3. CIBC Multi-Asset Absolute Return StrategyHedge17,981 investors$568M
  4. Renaissance US Money Market FundLiquidity1,193 investors$128M
  5. Renaissance Money Market FundLiquidity4,440 investors$115M

Funds they back

3 fund commitments on record

Managers
3

Every fund on record that it has committed money to, and the managers who invest it.Source: fund news.

What they claim to have backed

From their own portfolio page (on their website)

0 of 4 we have independently watched raise

CIBC Rewards OpensCanada Deposit InsuranceCapital MarketsTop GIC questions

Weaker than a round we watched, stronger than a list somebody sold us. A firm is far less willing to put a company on its own site that it never funded.

Who they invest alongside

The investors most often in the same rounds as CIBC. A count of rooms they were both in, not a relationship either has claimed.

Recently backed

The latest companies CIBC put money into.

Mentioned on podcasts

Episodes that name CIBC in their description, not their title.

Quick answers about CIBC

What does CIBC invest in?

CIBC invests most often at Debt and Venture (87% of the rounds on record), in sectors such as Enterprise Software, Health Care and Banking.

How active is CIBC?

116 investments on record, 30 of them in the last 12 months. The most recent was in Sept 2026.

What has CIBC invested in recently?

Its most recent investments on record: Axya (Series A, Sept 2026), Modo Energy (Debt, Jul 2026) and Definium Therapeutics (Undisclosed round, Jun 2026).

How big are CIBC's cheques?

The median round it joins is $26M.

Does CIBC lead rounds?

Rarely, if at all: none of its 116 investments on record names it as the lead.

Where does CIBC invest?

Most of the companies it backs are in Canada (46%), the United Kingdom (23%) and the United States (23%).

Is CIBC investing now?

Yes: it is actively investing, with 30 investments in the last 12 months.

Who does CIBC invest alongside?

Most often CIBC Innovation Banking (68 rounds together), BDC Capital (9 rounds together) and Bank of Montreal (BMO) (7 rounds together).

Raising now?

Find the investors who back rounds like yours, and keep every conversation on one fundraising board.

Built from the rounds we watched, its filings and its own website, refreshed every night. How we count · Report a correction · Is this your firm? Claim it