United Kingdom · Investor

Octopus Investments

Last cheque observed Sep 2019. Silence since then is not evidence of inactivity: our sources miss unannounced rounds.

QuietVC firm

SeedSeries AGrowthFinancial Services

Cheques on record
0%of best year0cheques in 12 months, 38 on record
Since the last cheque2602days00hrs00min00sec
Median round$5.8MRounds led2 of 38Sole investor13 roundsExits7 from the portfolioMostly inUnited Kingdom, 85%
Pitch Octopus Investments

Octopus Investments highlights

  1. 01

    38 rounds on record

  2. 02

    Mostly Seed and Series A: 75% of its rounds

  3. 03

    Sole investor in 13 rounds, median $4.6M

  4. 04

    7 exits from the portfolio

What they do

Type
VC firm (from a list, unverified)
Cheque size
Not stated
Sectors
Financial Services
Based in
London, United Kingdom
Cold pitches
Not stated

The record

Every round we can evidence, newest first38 appearances

  1. 2019

    4 rounds

  2. Sept
    One Team LogicGB · Uktech$3.9MSole investor
  3. Mar
    VeeqoSeries B · GB · EU-Startups$4.3MLed
  4. Feb
    RotolightGB · Broadcastnow$6.6MSole investor
  5. Jan
    SimplyCookSeries A · GB · TechCrunch$5.8MLed
  6. 2016

    1 round

  7. Jul
    Property Partner$23MWith 9 others
  8. 2015

    4 rounds

  9. Nov
    Eve MattressSeries A · GB$3.8MWith 1 other
  10. Nov
    BridgeUSeed · GB$2.5MWith 4 others
  11. Nov
    Anglo European GroupGBUndisclosedSole investor
  12. Oct
    VouchedForSeries A · GB$5.4MWith 1 other
  13. 2014

    16 rounds

  14. Oct
    MailcloudSeed · GB$1.8MWith 6 others
  15. Oct
    UniplacesSeed · PT$3.5MWith 3 others
  16. Sept
    Property PartnerSeed · GB$2.0MWith 6 others
  17. Sept
    Origami EnergyVenture · GB$5.8MWith 1 other
  18. Aug
    SmartKemSeries A · GB$4.0MWith 2 others
  19. Jul
    Swoon EditionsSeries A · GB$6.8MWith 1 other
  20. Jul
    ConversocialSeries A · US$5.0MWith 3 others
  21. Jul
    EllipticSeed · GB$2.0MWith 1 other
  22. Jun
    VouchedForSeries A · GB$1.6MWith 2 others
  23. May
    Countrywide Healthcare SuppliesVenture · GB$4.6MSole investor
  24. May
    CertiVoxSeries B · GB$8.0MWith 2 others
  25. Mar
    AdbrainSeries A · GB$7.5MWith 2 others
  26. Mar
    Sofar SoundsSeedUndisclosedSole investor
  27. Mar
    Tails.comSeed · GBUndisclosedWith 1 other
  28. Feb
    Bowman PowerVenture · GB$4.5MWith 1 other
  29. Jan
    Michelson DiagnosticsSeries A · GB$3.3MWith 2 others
  30. 2013

    5 rounds

  31. Dec
    Trouva, by StreetHubSeed · GB$1.2MWith 3 others
  32. Nov
    UniplacesSeed · PT · finsmes.com$1.2MWith 2 others
  33. Oct
    Swoon EditionsSeed · GB · finsmes.com$1.8MWith 1 other
  34. Jul
    AffectvSeries A$3.0MWith 1 other
  35. May
    ConversocialSeries A · US · techcrunch.com$3.2MWith 2 others
  36. 2011

    1 round

  37. Mar
    CSL DualComSeries A · GBUndisclosedSole investor
  38. 2008

    1 round

  39. Jun
    HydroboltGrowth · GBUndisclosedSole investor
  40. 2007

    2 rounds

  41. Dec
    Plum BabySeedUndisclosedSole investor
  42. Oct
    MylaGrowth · GBUndisclosedSole investor
  43. 2006

    2 rounds

  44. Oct
    ImpactUndisclosedSole investor
  45. Jun
    First RetailGrowth · USUndisclosedSole investor
  46. 2004

    1 round

  47. Apr
    ITM PowerGBUndisclosedSole investor
  48. 2003

    1 round

  49. Jul
    LOVEFiLMSeed · GBUndisclosedSole investor

An announcement gives the size of the round, not the size of this investor's cheque: the only rounds that imply a cheque are those where they were the sole named investor.

The team

Named by the firm itself, on a filing, its Form ADV or its company registration11 named

BTBenjamin Thomas Kidd DavisDirectoriForm ADV
CKCarsten KoppenNon-Executive DirectoriForm ADV
ELEllen Louise LedermanNon-Executive DirectoriForm ADV
JJJohn Julian BrowettDirectoriForm ADV
JPJohn Paul AverillDirectoriForm ADV
JCJonathan Charles Nigel DiggesDirectoriForm ADV
JPJonathan Patrick DeesDirectoriForm ADV
RARuth Anna HandcockDirectoriForm ADV
SMSarah Mary GrantDirectoriForm ADV
SASimon Andrew RogersonCEO & DirectoriForm ADV
SJStuart James QuickendenDirectoriForm ADV

We also hold 20 people at this firm from the lists this database was built from: a weaker source than the filings, since a list does not say when a title ended. Login to see them.

What the register says

From the firm's own filings with the SEC, which it must file accurately by law

$41Mgross assets of its funds, 2 advisers combinedOct 2026
Exemptreporting adviserventure or small private funds
Legal name
Octopus Investments Limited
SEC number
CRD 284953

What they claim to have backed

From their own portfolio page (on their website)

0 of 2 we have independently watched raise

Create illustrationNatural Capital

Weaker than a round we watched, stronger than a list somebody sold us. A firm is far less willing to put a company on its own site that it never funded.

Exits from the portfolio

Companies it backed that were later bought or listed7 in all

HydroboltBought by LoneStar Fasteners EuropeUndisclosedApr 2014
MylaBought by Jynwel CapitalUndisclosedAug 2013
Plum BabyBought by Campbell Soup CompanyUndisclosedJun 2013
ImpactBought by AVM ImpactUndisclosedDec 2012
LOVEFiLMBought by Amazon$2.5MJun 2012
CSL DualComBought by Bowmark CapitalUndisclosedJan 2012
LoveFilmBought by Amazon$312MJan 2011

An exit counts when it came after the firm's first round in the company. From historical deal records.

Companies it bought

Acquisitions by the firm itself

MedicXUndisclosedOct 2014

Who they invest alongside

The investors most often in the same rounds as Octopus Investments. A count of rooms they were both in, not a relationship either has claimed.

Recently backed

The latest companies Octopus Investments put money into.

Mentioned on podcasts

Episodes that name Octopus Investments in their description, not their title.

Quick answers about Octopus Investments

What does Octopus Investments invest in?

Octopus Investments invests most often at Seed and Series A (75% of the rounds on record), in sectors such as Financial Services.

How active is Octopus Investments?

38 investments on record, 0 of them in the last 12 months, and it led 2. The most recent was in Sept 2019.

What has Octopus Investments invested in recently?

Its most recent investments on record: One Team Logic (Undisclosed round, Sept 2019), Veeqo (Series B, Mar 2019) and Rotolight (Undisclosed round, Feb 2019).

How big are Octopus Investments's cheques?

The median round it joins is $5.8M.

Does Octopus Investments lead rounds?

Sometimes: it led 2 of its 38 investments on record (5%).

Where does Octopus Investments invest?

Most of the companies it backs are in the United Kingdom (85%), the United States (9%) and Portugal (6%).

Is Octopus Investments investing now?

No investments in the last 12 months; the latest was in Sept 2019.

Who does Octopus Investments invest alongside?

Most often Index Ventures (4 rounds together), Seedcamp (4 rounds together) and DN Capital (3 rounds together).

Raising now?

Find the investors who back rounds like yours, and keep every conversation on one fundraising board.

Built from the rounds we watched, its filings and its own website, refreshed every night. How we count · Report a correction · Is this your firm? Claim it