Investor

D.E. Shaw & Co.

Last cheque observed Jun 2015. Silence since then is not evidence of inactivity: our sources miss unannounced rounds.

QuietGrowth equity

Series BSeries CSeries D

Cheques on record
0%of best year0cheques in 12 months, 37 on record
Since the last cheque4156days00hrs00min00sec
Median round$16MRounds led0 of 37Sole investor5 roundsExits8 from the portfolioMostly inUnited States, 94%
Pitch D.E. Shaw & Co.

D.E. Shaw & Co. highlights

  1. 01

    37 rounds on record

  2. 02

    Mostly Series B and Series C: 61% of its rounds

  3. 03

    Sole investor in 5 rounds, median $5.0M

  4. 04

    8 exits from the portfolio

What they do

Type
Growth equity (from a list, unverified)
Cheque size
Not stated
Cold pitches
Not stated

The record

Every round we can evidence, newest first37 appearances

  1. 2015

    1 round

  2. Jun
    SpotifySeries G · SE$526MWith 12 others
  3. 2014

    1 round

  4. Jul
    AltierreVenture · US$21MWith 5 others
  5. 2013

    2 rounds

  6. Nov
    KanjoyaSeries D · US · sec.gov$4.0MWith 2 others
  7. Apr
    Cervel NeurotechVenture · US · marketwire.com$14MWith 1 other
  8. 2012

    1 round

  9. Jul
    KanjoyaSeries C · US · sec.gov$3.9MWith 2 others
  10. 2011

    3 rounds

  11. Jul
    TapjoySeries D · US · venturebeat.com$30MWith 3 others
  12. Jan
    TapjoySeries C · US · tapjoy.com$21MWith 3 others
  13. Jan
    KanjoyaSeries C · US · techcrunch.com$1.7MSole investor
  14. 2010

    2 rounds

  15. Sept
    TownHogSeries B · US · sec.gov$1.5MSole investor
  16. Aug
    Infinite Power SolutionsSeries C · US · earth2tech.com$20MWith 4 others
  17. 2009

    4 rounds

  18. Aug
    Meru NetworksSeries E · US · deals.venturebeat.com$57MWith 6 others
  19. Jun
    Portola PharmaceuticalsSeries C · US$60MWith 17 others
  20. Apr
    Meru NetworksSeries E · US · venturebeat.com$30MWith 7 others
  21. Feb
    TapjoySeries B · US · insidefacebook.com$15MWith 2 others
  22. 2008

    11 rounds

  23. Dec
    DotBluSeries A · US · thealarmclock.com$2.0MWith 1 other
  24. Dec
    Infinite Power SolutionsSeries B · US · news.prnewswire.com$13MWith 4 others
  25. Dec
    Emotive CommunicationsSeries B · US · biz.yahoo.com$6.3MWith 1 other
  26. Sept
    Natrix SeparationsSeries B · CA · natrixseparations.com$19MWith 2 others
  27. Sept
    AsetekSeries B · US · sanfrancisco.bizjournals.com$16MSole investor
  28. May
    KanjoyaSeries B · US · centredaily.com$3.0MWith 1 other
  29. May
    VeodiaSeries A · US · news.yahoo.com$8.3MWith 1 other
  30. May
    AltierreSeries C · US · venturebeat.com$8.0MWith 5 others
  31. Apr
    SilverpopVenture · US · venturebeat.com$15MWith 1 other
  32. Feb
    RocketOnSeries B · US · virtualworldsnews.com$5.8MWith 1 other
  33. Jan
    Desi HitsSeries B · US · venturebeat.com$5.0MWith 2 others
  34. 2007

    11 rounds

  35. Oct
    Paratek PharmaceuticalsSeries H · US$40MWith 3 others
  36. Oct
    Winery ExchangeGrowth · US$5.0MSole investor
  37. Jun
    PGP CorporationSeries C · US · thealarmclock.com$27MWith 3 others
  38. Jun
    WiQuest CommunicationsSeries C · US · texastechpulse.com$28MWith 6 others
  39. May
    SolaicxSeries C · US$27MWith 5 others
  40. Apr
    Emotive CommunicationsSeries A · US · emotive.com$7.7MWith 2 others
  41. Apr
    PanTerra NetworksSeries A · US · panterranetworks.com$6.0MSole investor
  42. Apr
    AltierreSeries B · US · venturebeat.com$17MWith 4 others
  43. Mar
    MAP PharmaceuticalsSeries D · US · deals.venturebeat.com$50MWith 5 others
  44. Feb
    ReactrixSeries C$45MWith 3 others
  45. Jan
    Meru NetworksSeries D · US · venturebeat.com$28MWith 9 others
  46. 2006

    1 round

  47. Sept
    Infinite Power SolutionsGrowth · US$35MWith 5 others

An announcement gives the size of the round, not the size of this investor's cheque: the only rounds that imply a cheque are those where they were the sole named investor.

The team

We hold 26 people at this firm from the lists this database was built from: a weaker source than the filings, since a list does not say when a title ended. Login to see them.

Exits from the portfolio

Companies it backed that were later bought or listed8 in all

Meru NetworksBought by Fortinet$44MMay 2015
Portola PharmaceuticalsListed$100MMay 2013
MAP PharmaceuticalsBought by Allergan$958MJan 2013
TownHogBought by BuyWithMeUndisclosedSept 2011
SolaicxBought by MEMC Electronic Materials$66MMay 2010
PGP CorporationBought by Symantec$300MApr 2010
Meru NetworksListedUndisclosedMar 2010

An exit counts when it came after the firm's first round in the company. From historical deal records.

Who they invest alongside

The investors most often in the same rounds as D.E. Shaw & Co.. A count of rooms they were both in, not a relationship either has claimed.

Quick answers about D.E. Shaw & Co.

What does D.E. Shaw & Co. invest in?

D.E. Shaw & Co. invests most often at Series B and Series C (61% of the rounds on record).

How active is D.E. Shaw & Co.?

37 investments on record, 0 of them in the last 12 months. The most recent was in Jun 2015.

How big are D.E. Shaw & Co.'s cheques?

The median round it joins is $16M.

Does D.E. Shaw & Co. lead rounds?

Rarely, if at all: none of its 37 investments on record names it as the lead.

Where does D.E. Shaw & Co. invest?

Most of the companies it backs are in the United States (94%).

Is D.E. Shaw & Co. investing now?

No investments in the last 12 months; the latest was in Jun 2015.

Who does D.E. Shaw & Co. invest alongside?

Most often Applied Ventures (4 rounds together), Clearstone Venture Partners (4 rounds together) and ATA Ventures (3 rounds together).

What kind of investor is D.E. Shaw & Co.?

D.E. Shaw & Co. is a growth equity firm.

Raising now?

Find the investors who back rounds like yours, and keep every conversation on one fundraising board.

Built from the rounds we watched, its filings and its own website, refreshed every night. How we count · Report a correction · Is this your firm? Claim it