United Kingdom · Investor

Actis

Filed with the SEC to raise a fund in Feb 2026, closing $133M. Last cheque observed Oct 2019.

QuietNew fund $133M, Feb 2026Private equity

SeedSeries ASeries BSmart GridSmartgridsInfrastructure

Cheques on record
0%of best year0cheques in 12 months, 11 on record
Since the last cheque2574days00hrs00min00sec
Median round$180MRounds led0 of 11Sole investor8 roundsExits1 from the portfolioMostly inChina, 40%
Pitch Actis

Actis highlights

  1. 01

    11 rounds on record

  2. 02

    Mostly Venture and Growth: 80% of its rounds

  3. 03

    Sole investor in 8 rounds, median $62M

  4. 04

    1 exits from the portfolio

What they do

Actis provides investors access to some of the fastest-growing infrastructure opportunitiesFrom their own website
Type
Private equity (from a list, unverified)
Cheque size
Not stated
Stages
SeedSeries ASeries BGrowth
Sectors
Smart GridSmartgridsInfrastructure
Based in
London, United Kingdom
Cold pitches
Not stated

The record

Every round we can evidence, newest first11 appearances

  1. 2019

    1 round

  2. Oct
    ChayoraSeries C · HK · DealStreetAsia$180MSole investor
  3. 2015

    1 round

  4. Nov
    Sigma PensionsVenture · NG$62MSole investor
  5. 2014

    1 round

  6. Nov
    Tekkie TownGrowth · ZA$65MSole investor
  7. 2013

    3 rounds

  8. Oct
    Symbiotec PharmalabVenture · IN · vccircle.com$48MSole investor
  9. Jul
    Plateno Hotel GroupVenture · CNUndisclosedWith 2 others
  10. Jun
    Edita Food IndustriesGrowth · EG · pehub.com$102MSole investor
  11. 2011

    1 round

  12. Jul
    Vesta (Guangzhou) Catering EquipmentCNUndisclosedSole investor
  13. 2010

    1 round

  14. Nov
    XP InvestimentosVenture · BR · finsmes.com$58MSole investor
  15. 2008

    1 round

  16. Oct
    Ambow EducationSeries D · CN · thefreelibrary.com$103MWith 2 others
  17. 2006

    2 rounds

  18. Dec
    Jiangsu Shunda Semiconductor DevelopmentGrowth · CN$82MWith 3 others
  19. Oct
    Add Life Medical InstituteVenture$16MSole investor

An announcement gives the size of the round, not the size of this investor's cheque: the only rounds that imply a cheque are those where they were the sole named investor.

The team

Named by the firm itself, on a filing, its Form ADV or its company registration24 named

AVA. Vijay PalkarFounding Partner of the sole shareholderiFiling they signed
ALActis LLPManageriFiling they signed
AFAdiba Folashade IghodaroMember of the Managing General PartneriFiling they signed
ADAdrian David Michael MucalovMember of the managing general partneriFiling they signed
ATAdrian Torbjorn Van-WykMember of the Managing General PartneriFiling they signed
ADAlistair David Michael MackintoshMember of the Manager and member of Copper Partners LLP, a member of the GP.iFiling they signed
ASAmanda Sherry Jean-BaptisteMember of the Managing General PartneriFiling they signed
ATAmanda Torbjorn Jean-BaptiseMember of the Managing General PartneriFiling they signed
AJAndrew James Tompsett NewingtonMember of the Managing General PartneriFiling they signed
BDBarry David Michael LynchMember of the Managing General PartneriFiling they signed
BPBijal PatelManageriFiling they signed
BRBinayak R. MishraClass A Manager of the Issuer's General Partner and Founding Partner of the sole shareholderiFiling they signed
CJChristopher James Mackenzie ColesMember of the Manager and member of Copper Partners LLP, a member of the GP.iFiling they signed
CRClive RodgersDirector of ProcurementiFiling they signed
DTDaniel Torbjorn FletcherMember of the Manager and member of Copper Partners LLP, a member of the GP.iFiling they signed
DDDavid David Michael MorleyMember of the Manager and member of Copper Partners LLP, a member of the GP.iFiling they signed
DMDavid Michael H EBCO S.A R.L.Member of the GPiFiling they signed
DPDavid Paul FletcherMember of the managing general partneriFiling they signed
JMJames M. Barker, VFounding Partner of the sole shareholderiFiling they signed
JTJames Torbjorn GrantMember of the Managing General PartneriFiling they signed
JAJohn Adrian Van-WykMember of the managing general partneriFiling they signed
JRJohn Roderick Alan Van WykMember of the Manager and member of Copper Partners LLP, a member of the GP.iFiling they signed
JRJonathon Roderick Alan BondMember of the Manager and member of Copper Partners LLP, a member of the GP.iFiling they signed
JMJyotindra Manibhai TrivediMember of the Manager and member of Copper Partners LLP, a member of the GP.iFiling they signed

We also hold 260 people at this firm from the lists this database was built from: a weaker source than the filings, since a list does not say when a title ended. Login to see them.

What they claim to have backed

From their own portfolio page (on their website)

0 of 1 we have independently watched raise

Investor Centre

Weaker than a round we watched, stronger than a list somebody sold us. A firm is far less willing to put a company on its own site that it never funded.

Exits from the portfolio

Companies it backed that were later bought or listed1 in all

Jiangsu Shunda Semiconductor DevelopmentBought by Suntech Power$102MMay 2008

An exit counts when it came after the firm's first round in the company. From historical deal records.

Companies it bought

Acquisitions by the firm itself

EmicoolUndisclosedApr 2022
Emerging Markets Knowledge HoldingsUndisclosedDec 2014
EMPUndisclosedJul 2010
Sinai MarbleUndisclosedJun 2007
El Rashidi El MizanUndisclosedJan 2003

Recently backed

The latest companies Actis put money into.

Quick answers about Actis

What does Actis invest in?

Actis invests most often at Venture and Growth (80% of the rounds on record), in sectors such as Smart Grid, Smartgrids and Infrastructure.

How active is Actis?

11 investments on record, 0 of them in the last 12 months. The most recent was in Oct 2019.

What has Actis invested in recently?

Its most recent investments on record: Chayora (Series C, Oct 2019).

How big are Actis's cheques?

The median round it joins is $180M.

Does Actis lead rounds?

Rarely, if at all: none of its 11 investments on record names it as the lead.

Where does Actis invest?

Most of the companies it backs are in China (40%), Hong Kong SAR China (10%) and Nigeria (10%).

Is Actis investing now?

No investments in the last 12 months; the latest was in Oct 2019.

What kind of investor is Actis?

Actis is a private equity firm based in London, United Kingdom.

Raising now?

Find the investors who back rounds like yours, and keep every conversation on one fundraising board.

Built from the rounds we watched, its filings and its own website, refreshed every night. How we count · Report a correction · Is this your firm? Claim it