United States · Investor

Hellman & Friedman

Last cheque observed Jan 2008. Silence since then is not evidence of inactivity: our sources miss unannounced rounds.

QuietPrivate equity

Series C

Cheques on record
0%of best year0cheques in 12 months, 1 on record
Since the last cheque6873days00hrs00min00sec
Median round$19MRounds led0 of 1Exits1 from the portfolio
Pitch Hellman & Friedman

Hellman & Friedman highlights

  1. 01

    1 rounds on record

  2. 02

    Mostly Series C: 100% of its rounds

  3. 03

    1 exits from the portfolio

What they do

Type
Private equity (from a list, unverified)
Cheque size
Not stated
Based in
United States
Cold pitches
Not stated

The record

Every round we can evidence, newest first1 appearances

  1. 2008

    1 round

  2. Jan
    AdchemySeries C · US · adchemy.com$19MWith 2 others

An announcement gives the size of the round, not the size of this investor's cheque: the only rounds that imply a cheque are those where they were the sole named investor.

Who backs their funds

5 LPs on record in Hellman & Friedman's funds

Committed
$8.1B
Funds
9
Vintages
2004 to 2025

The institutions that put money into its funds, which the firm then invests in companies.Source: the pension's own report, latest Jun 2026.

  • Washington State Investment Board6 funds$3.1B
    FundVintageCommitted
    Hellman & Friedman Capital Partners X2021$1.0B
    Hellman & Friedman Capital Partners IX2020$750M
    Hellman & Friedman Capital Partners VIII2016$600M
    Hellman & Friedman Capital Partners VII2011$400M
    Hellman & Friedman Capital Partners VI2007$275M
    Hellman & Friedman Capital Partners V2004$75M
  • California Public Employees' Retirement System (CalPERS)4 funds$1.9B
    FundVintageCommitted
    Hellman & Friedman Capital Partners X2021$688M
    Hellman & Friedman Capital Partners IX2020$433M
    Hellman & Friedman Capital Partners VIII2016$500M
    Hellman & Friedman Capital Partners VII2011$300M
  • California State Teachers Retirement System5 funds$1.6B
    FundVintageCommitted
    Hellman & Friedman Capital Partners XI2025$200M
    Hellman & Friedman Partners X2021$600M
    Hellman & Friedman Capital Partners IX2020$450M
    Hellman & Friedman Capital Partners VIII2016$200M
    Hellman & Friedman Capital Partners VII2011$100M
  • Oregon Public Employees Retirement Fund4 funds$980M
    FundVintageCommitted
    Hellman & Friedman Capital Partners XI2022$250M
    Hellman & Friedman Capital Partners X2021$350M
    Hellman & Friedman Capital Partners IX2019$280M
    Hellman & Friedman Capital Partners VIII2016$100M
  • Minnesota State Board of Investments4 funds$575M
    FundVintageCommitted
    Hellman & Friedman Capital Partners XI2023$100M
    Hellman & Friedman Capital Partners X2021$250M
    Hellman & Friedman Investors IX2018$175M
    Hellman & Friedman Capital Partners VII2009$50M

Exits from the portfolio

Companies it backed that were later bought or listed1 in all

AdchemyBought by WalmartLabsUndisclosedMay 2014

An exit counts when it came after the firm's first round in the company. From historical deal records.

Quick answers about Hellman & Friedman

What does Hellman & Friedman invest in?

Hellman & Friedman invests most often at Series C (100% of the rounds on record).

How active is Hellman & Friedman?

1 investments on record, 0 of them in the last 12 months. The most recent was in Jan 2008.

How big are Hellman & Friedman's cheques?

The median round it joins is $19M.

Is Hellman & Friedman investing now?

No investments in the last 12 months; the latest was in Jan 2008.

What kind of investor is Hellman & Friedman?

Hellman & Friedman is a private equity firm based in United States.

Where does this information on Hellman & Friedman come from?

From 1 articles and filings naming it in a round, public registers and its own website, checked and rebuilt every night.

Raising now?

Find the investors who back rounds like yours, and keep every conversation on one fundraising board.

Built from the rounds we watched, its filings and its own website, refreshed every night. How we count · Report a correction · Is this your firm? Claim it