United Kingdom · Investor

3i Group

Last cheque observed Mar 2019. Silence since then is not evidence of inactivity: our sources miss unannounced rounds.

QuietPrivate equity

BuyoutDebtGrowthLocalSearch EngineBanking

Cheques on record
0%of best year0cheques in 12 months, 202 on record
Since the last cheque2778days00hrs00min00sec
Median round$179MRounds led0 of 202Sole investor22 roundsExits55 from the portfolioMostly inUnited States, 45%
Pitch 3i Group

3i Group highlights

  1. 01

    202 rounds on record

  2. 02

    Mostly Venture and Series C: 51% of its rounds

  3. 03

    Sole investor in 22 rounds, median $30M

  4. 04

    55 exits from the portfolio

What they do

Type
Private equity (from a list, unverified)
Cheque size
Not stated
Stages
BuyoutDebtGrowthSeedSeries A
Sectors
LocalSearch EngineBanking
Based in
London, United Kingdom
Cold pitches
Not stated

The record

Every round we can evidence, newest first202 appearances

  1. 2019

    1 round

  2. Mar
    Magnitude SoftwareUS · Xconomy$179MSole investor
  3. 2014

    1 round

  4. Aug
    A&A ManufacturingGrowth · US$110MSole investor
  5. 2013

    2 rounds

  6. Nov
    Basic-FitGrowth · NL · finsmes.com$142MWith 1 other
  7. Nov
    ScandlinesGrowth · DE · 4-traders.com$212MSole investor
  8. 2011

    6 rounds

  9. Dec
    Blue Interactive GroupVenture · BR · finsmes.com$55MSole investor
  10. Aug
    TouchTunes Interactive NetworksVenture · US · finsmes.com$45MWith 1 other
  11. Jul
    ActionNL · finsmes.comUndisclosedSole investor
  12. Jul
    Loxam HoldingGrowth · FR · finsmes.com$87MWith 1 other
  13. May
  14. Apr
    GO OutdoorsVenture · GB · finsmes.com$46MSole investor
  15. 2010

    1 round

  16. Mar
    TransMedicsSeries E · US · onbiovc.com$36MWith 10 others
  17. 2009

    6 rounds

  18. Sept
    CamSemiSeries D · GB$8.2MWith 2 others
  19. Jul
    Light Blue OpticsSeries A · GB · freshnews.com$15MWith 4 others
  20. Jun
    PolatisVenture · US · polatis.com$8.0MWith 7 others
  21. Apr
    Small Bone InnovationsSeries D · US · totalsmallbone.com$108MWith 4 others
  22. Apr
    GarlikSeries C · GB$2.3MWith 1 other
  23. Apr
    BuyVIPSeries C · ES · dmwmedia.com$20MWith 3 others
  24. 2008

    18 rounds

  25. Dec
    TaptuSeries B · GB · uk.techcrunch.com$9.9MSole investor
  26. Oct
    Konarka TechnologiesVenture · US · pv-tech.org$45MWith 9 others
  27. Sept
    NujiraSeries C · GB · nujira.com$18MWith 5 others
  28. Sept
    CarboniteSeries C · US · masshightech.com$21MWith 4 others
  29. Aug
    EnOceanSeries D · DE · eetimes.eu$6.6MWith 5 others
  30. Aug
    WellpartnerSeries D · US$16MWith 5 others
  31. Jun
    SLR ConsultingSeries C · GB · internationallawoffice.com$64MSole investor
  32. Jun
    GarlikVenture · GB$5.0MWith 2 others
  33. May
    OmniGuideSeries E · US · venturebeat.com$25MWith 5 others
  34. Apr
    CoremetricsSeries E · US · paidcontent.org$60MWith 1 other
  35. Mar
    Series B · bio-medicine.org$20MWith 3 others
  36. Mar
    Sotera WirelessSeries B · US · soterawireless.com$20MWith 3 others
  37. Feb
    NanostellarSeries E · US$7.0MWith 2 others
  38. Feb
    Zonare Medical SystemsVenture · US · deals.venturebeat.com$30MWith 7 others
  39. Jan
    VelocixSeries D · GB · velocix.com$25MWith 2 others
  40. Jan
    CacheLogicSeries D · GB · paidcontent.org$25MWith 2 others
  41. Jan
    UltheraSeries B · US · ulthera.com$23MWith 1 other
  42. Jan
    Small Bone InnovationsSeries C · US · totalsmallbone.com$36MWith 4 others
  43. 2007

    31 rounds

  44. Dec
    TwengaSeed · FR · venturebeat.com$3.8MSole investor
  45. Oct
    CamSemiSeries C · GB · camsemi.com$26MWith 4 others
  46. Oct
    FastBookingSeries B · FR · pehub.com$50MWith 1 other
  47. Oct
    Light Blue OpticsSeries A · GB · lightblueoptics.com$26MWith 3 others
  48. Oct
    Konarka TechnologiesVenture · US$45MWith 9 others

An announcement gives the size of the round, not the size of this investor's cheque: the only rounds that imply a cheque are those where they were the sole named investor.

The team

Named by the firm itself, on a filing, its Form ADV or its company registration12 named

BDBenjamin Daniel KrauseDirectoriForm ADV
BDBernardo De Sa Braamcamp Sobral SottomayorDirectoriForm ADV
DJDe Jong Aart PieterDirectoriForm ADV
JGJames Graham HatchleyDirectoriForm ADV
JHJasi Hari HalaiDirectoriForm ADV
JPJohn Paul DecesareChief Compliance OfficeriForm ADV
KJKevin John DunnDirectoriForm ADV
PKPeter Konrad WirtzDirectoriForm ADV
RVRichard Vaurie RelyeaTreasureriForm ADV
RKRobert K CollinsDirectoriForm ADV
SBScott Bruce Michael MoseleyDirectoriForm ADV
SASimon Alexander BorrowsDirectoriForm ADV

We also hold 92 people at this firm from the lists this database was built from: a weaker source than the filings, since a list does not say when a title ended. Login to see them.

What the register says

From the firm's own filings with the SEC, which it must file accurately by law

$21Bassets it manages, 2 advisers combinedOct 2026
Exemptreporting adviserventure or small private funds
Legal name
3i Investments PLC
SEC number
CRD 159892

Funds on its Form ADV

8 private funds, $526M in gross assets · filed Jun 2024

  1. 3i North American Infrastructure Fund B L.P.Private equity7 investors$224M
  2. 3i RR Coinvest L.P.Private equity4 investors$136M
  3. 3i North American Infrastructure Fund C L.P.Private equity4 investors$90M
  4. 3i MME Coinvest L.P.Private equity4 investors$41M
  5. 3i ECW Coinvest L.P.Private equity1 investor$19M
  6. North American Infrastructure Carry and Coinvest L.P.Private equity1 investor$6.6M
  7. PE 2019-22 Co-Invest L.P.Private equity49 investors$5.5M
  8. PE 2016-19 Co-Invest L.P.Private equity48 investors$4.8M

Exits from the portfolio

Companies it backed that were later bought or listed55 in all

IntalioBought by EverteamUndisclosedOct 2015
Protonex Technology CorporationBought by Ballard Power Systems$30MJun 2015
World Freight Company InternationalBought by Greenbriar Equity GroupUndisclosedMar 2015
Kineto WirelessBought by TaquaUndisclosedSept 2014
Small Bone InnovationsBought by Stryker Corporation$375MJun 2014
UltheraBought by Merz$600MJun 2014
Zonare Medical SystemsBought by Mindray Medical International$105MJun 2013
FiosBought by DTIUndisclosedNov 2012
GarlikBought by ExperianUndisclosedDec 2011
DiBcomBought by ParrotUndisclosedJul 2011
Carmel PharmaBought by Becton DickinsonUndisclosedJul 2011
DatanomicBought by Oracle CorporationUndisclosedJun 2011
SiGe SemiconductorBought by Skyworks Solutions$275MMay 2011
IceraBought by Nvidia$367MMay 2011
PsytechnicsBought by NetScout SystemsUndisclosedMar 2011
Mobile CommerceBought by FiservUndisclosedFeb 2011
MetastormBought by OpenText CorporationUndisclosedFeb 2011
Real Girls Media NetworkBought by Meredith Corporation$4.0MDec 2010

The latest 20 here. An exit counts when it came after the firm's first round in the company. From historical deal records.

Companies it bought

Acquisitions by the firm itself

Aspen PumpsUndisclosedFeb 2015
Quality Synthetic RubberUndisclosedNov 2014
La SirenaUndisclosedDec 2005
National Car ParksUndisclosedJul 2005
ABX LogisticsUndisclosedJun 2005
FairlineUndisclosedJun 2005
XeyUndisclosedJan 2005
Kemira ChemicalsUndisclosedJul 2004
Lichtwer PharmaUndisclosedMar 2004
MSCUndisclosedJan 2004
Refresco GerberUndisclosedOct 2003

Who they invest alongside

The investors most often in the same rounds as 3i Group. A count of rooms they were both in, not a relationship either has claimed.

Quick answers about 3i Group

What does 3i Group invest in?

3i Group invests most often at Venture and Series C (51% of the rounds on record), in sectors such as Local, Search Engine and Banking.

How active is 3i Group?

202 investments on record, 0 of them in the last 12 months. The most recent was in Mar 2019.

What has 3i Group invested in recently?

Its most recent investments on record: Magnitude Software (Undisclosed round, Mar 2019).

How big are 3i Group's cheques?

The median round it joins is $179M.

Does 3i Group lead rounds?

Rarely, if at all: none of its 202 investments on record names it as the lead.

Where does 3i Group invest?

Most of the companies it backs are in the United States (45%), the United Kingdom (32%) and France (8%).

Is 3i Group investing now?

No investments in the last 12 months; the latest was in Mar 2019.

Who does 3i Group invest alongside?

Most often Scottish Equity Partners (11 rounds together), Amadeus Capital Partners (8 rounds together) and Intel Capital (8 rounds together).

Raising now?

Find the investors who back rounds like yours, and keep every conversation on one fundraising board.

Built from the rounds we watched, its filings and its own website, refreshed every night. How we count · Report a correction · Is this your firm? Claim it