# Actis: portfolio, investments and team

> Actis is a private equity based in United Kingdom. 11 investments on record, latest Oct 2019. Portfolio, stages, co-investors and team.

Source: https://millionrounds.com/fund/actis (Millionrounds; every figure on the page links to its filing or article)

United Kingdom · [Investor](https://millionrounds.com/investors)

# Actis

Filed with the SEC to raise a fund in Feb 2026, closing $133M. Last cheque observed Oct 2019.

Email

Quiet New fund $133M, Feb 2026 Private equity

Seed Series A Series B Smart Grid Smartgrids Infrastructure

Follow Actis and see its new cheques in your feed. [Start following](https://millionrounds.com/login?join=1&why=follow&next=%2Ffund%2Factis)

Cheques on record

**0%** of best year **0** **cheques in 12 months**, 11 on record

Since the last cheque **2574** days **00** hrs **00** min **00** sec

Median round **$180M** Rounds led **0 of 11** Sole investor **8 rounds** Exits **1 from the portfolio** Mostly in **China, 40%**

Pitch Actis

## Actis highlights

- 01 11 rounds on record
- 02 Mostly Venture and Growth: 80% of its rounds
- 03 Sole investor in 8 rounds, median $62M
- 04 1 exits from the portfolio

## What they do

> Actis provides investors access to some of the fastest-growing infrastructure opportunities From their own website

- **Type:** Private equity (from a list, unverified)
- **Cheque size:** Not stated
- **Stages:** Seed Series A Series B Growth
- **Sectors:** Smart Grid Smartgrids Infrastructure
- **Based in:** London, United Kingdom
- **Cold pitches:** Not stated

## The record

Every round we can evidence, newest first **11 appearances**

- **2019** 1 round
- **Oct** **[Chayora](https://millionrounds.com/company/chayora)** Series C · HK · DealStreetAsia **$180M** Sole investor
- **2015** 1 round
- **Nov** **[Sigma Pensions](https://millionrounds.com/company/sigma-pensions)** Venture · NG **$62M** Sole investor
- **2014** 1 round
- **Nov** **[Tekkie Town](https://millionrounds.com/company/tekkie-town)** Growth · ZA **$65M** Sole investor
- **2013** 3 rounds
- **Oct** **[Symbiotec Pharmalab](https://millionrounds.com/company/symbiotec-pharmalab)** Venture · IN · vccircle.com **$48M** Sole investor
- **Jul** **[Plateno Hotel Group](https://millionrounds.com/company/plateno-hotel-group)** Venture · CN **Undisclosed** With 2 others
- **Jun** **[Edita Food Industries](https://millionrounds.com/company/edita-food-industries)** Growth · EG · pehub.com **$102M** Sole investor
- **2011** 1 round
- **Jul** **[Vesta (Guangzhou) Catering Equipment](https://millionrounds.com/company/vesta-guangzhou-catering-equipment)** CN **Undisclosed** Sole investor
- **2010** 1 round
- **Nov** **[XP Investimentos](https://millionrounds.com/company/xp-investimentos)** Venture · BR · finsmes.com **$58M** Sole investor
- **2008** 1 round
- **Oct** **[Ambow Education](https://millionrounds.com/company/ambow-education)** Series D · CN · thefreelibrary.com **$103M** With 2 others
- **2006** 2 rounds
- **Dec** **[Jiangsu Shunda Semiconductor Development](https://millionrounds.com/company/jiangsu-shunda-semiconductor-development)** Growth · CN **$82M** With 3 others
- **Oct** **[Add Life Medical Institute](https://millionrounds.com/company/add-life-medical-institute)** Venture **$16M** Sole investor

An announcement gives the size of the round, not the size of this investor's cheque: the only rounds that imply a cheque are those where they were the sole named investor.

## The team

Named by the firm itself, on a filing, its Form ADV or its company registration **24 named**

AV **A. Vijay Palkar** Founding Partner of the sole shareholder i Filing they signed

AL **Actis LLP** Manager i Filing they signed

AF **Adiba Folashade Ighodaro** Member of the Managing General Partner i Filing they signed

AD **Adrian David Michael Mucalov** Member of the managing general partner i Filing they signed

AT **Adrian Torbjorn Van-Wyk** Member of the Managing General Partner i Filing they signed

AD **Alistair David Michael Mackintosh** Member of the Manager and member of Copper Partners LLP, a member of the GP. i Filing they signed

AS **Amanda Sherry Jean-Baptiste** Member of the Managing General Partner i Filing they signed

AT **Amanda Torbjorn Jean-Baptise** Member of the Managing General Partner i Filing they signed

AJ **Andrew James Tompsett Newington** Member of the Managing General Partner i Filing they signed

BD **Barry David Michael Lynch** Member of the Managing General Partner i Filing they signed

BP **Bijal Patel** Manager i Filing they signed

BR **Binayak R. Mishra** Class A Manager of the Issuer's General Partner and Founding Partner of the sole shareholder i Filing they signed

CJ **Christopher James Mackenzie Coles** Member of the Manager and member of Copper Partners LLP, a member of the GP. i Filing they signed

CR **Clive Rodgers** Director of Procurement i Filing they signed

DT **Daniel Torbjorn Fletcher** Member of the Manager and member of Copper Partners LLP, a member of the GP. i Filing they signed

DD **David David Michael Morley** Member of the Manager and member of Copper Partners LLP, a member of the GP. i Filing they signed

DM **David Michael H EBCO S.A R.L.** Member of the GP i Filing they signed

DP **David Paul Fletcher** Member of the managing general partner i Filing they signed

JM **James M. Barker, V** Founding Partner of the sole shareholder i Filing they signed

JT **James Torbjorn Grant** Member of the Managing General Partner i Filing they signed

JA **John Adrian Van-Wyk** Member of the managing general partner i Filing they signed

JR **John Roderick Alan Van Wyk** Member of the Manager and member of Copper Partners LLP, a member of the GP. i Filing they signed

JR **Jonathon Roderick Alan Bond** Member of the Manager and member of Copper Partners LLP, a member of the GP. i Filing they signed

JM **Jyotindra Manibhai Trivedi** Member of the Manager and member of Copper Partners LLP, a member of the GP. i Filing they signed

We also hold **260** people at this firm from the lists this database was built from: a weaker source than the filings, since a list does not say when a title ended. Login to see them.

## What they claim to have backed

From their own portfolio page (on their website)

**0** of 1 we have independently watched raise

Investor Centre

Weaker than a round we watched, stronger than a list somebody sold us. A firm is far less willing to put a company on its own site that it never funded.

## Exits from the portfolio

Companies it backed that were later bought or listed **1 in all**

**[Jiangsu Shunda Semiconductor Development](https://millionrounds.com/company/jiangsu-shunda-semiconductor-development)** Bought by Suntech Power **$102M** May 2008

An exit counts when it came after the firm's first round in the company. From historical deal records.

## Companies it bought

Acquisitions by the firm itself

**Emicool** **Undisclosed** Apr 2022

**Emerging Markets Knowledge Holdings** **Undisclosed** Dec 2014

**EMP** **Undisclosed** Jul 2010

**Sinai Marble** **Undisclosed** Jun 2007

**El Rashidi El Mizan** **Undisclosed** Jan 2003

New fund on file

**$133M**

raised in Feb 2026

From its SEC filing, not a journalist: a firm that has just raised has money to deploy.

## The cheque

Seed Series A Series B

Median round joined **$180M** the round, not its cheque Alone, median **$62M**

Led 0 of 11 rounds **0%**

- **Sole investor:** 8 rounds
- **Last cheque:** Oct 2019
- **Exits:** 1 from the portfolio

Rounds by stage said on their site

- Venture *5*
- Growth said *3*
- Series C *1*
- Series D *1*
- Seed said *-*
- Series A said *-*
- Series B said *-*

Cheques by year Led Joined

2006 2019

**Pitching Actis?** Put them on your fundraising board with this record on the card, and follow them to hear when they write a new cheque.

Add to your CRM *→*

## Recently backed

The latest companies Actis put money into.

[**Chayora** $180M · Oct 2019](https://millionrounds.com/company/chayora)

## Quick answers about Actis

### What does Actis invest in?

Actis invests most often at Venture and Growth (80% of the rounds on record), in sectors such as Smart Grid, Smartgrids and Infrastructure.

### How active is Actis?

11 investments on record, 0 of them in the last 12 months. The most recent was in Oct 2019.

### What has Actis invested in recently?

Its most recent investments on record: Chayora (Series C, Oct 2019).

### How big are Actis's cheques?

The median round it joins is $180M.

### Does Actis lead rounds?

Rarely, if at all: none of its 11 investments on record names it as the lead.

### Where does Actis invest?

Most of the companies it backs are in China (40%), Hong Kong SAR China (10%) and Nigeria (10%).

### Is Actis investing now?

No investments in the last 12 months; the latest was in Oct 2019.

### What kind of investor is Actis?

Actis is a private equity firm based in London, United Kingdom.

## Raising now?

Find the investors who back rounds like yours, and keep every conversation on one fundraising board.

Find similar investorsOpen your CRM

Built from the rounds we watched, its filings and its own website, refreshed every night. [How we count](https://millionrounds.com/methodology) · [Report a correction](https://millionrounds.com/corrections?slug=actis) · [Is this your firm? Claim it](https://millionrounds.com/claim?org=actis)
